STARSHIP feat. Mickey Thomas – Greatest Hits Relaunched (2021)

STARSHIP - Greatest Hits Relaunched (2021) full

Cleopatra Records is releasing on CD & Vinyl STARSHIP‘s ”Greatest Hits Relaunched”, a collection of recordings from the current version of the band fronted by Mickey Thomas. All the ’80s biggest hits from the band like “Sara,” “It’s Not Over (‘Til It’s Over)”, “We Built This City”, “Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now” and more have been re-recorded for this release, plus covers of Journey’s classic “Don’t Stop Believin’” and Kansas’ “Carry On My Wayward Son”.
Sometimes is risky when you re-record classic songs, but here results are successful for two reasons: first, Mickey Thomas always will be THE singer of STARSHIP (at least their lovely ’80s period), and second, the band has added a new ‘punch’ to these songs, an updated ‘melodic-rocking’ feeling in arrangements and performances.
I’m not sure about their version of ‘Carry On My Wayward Son’, but Mickey sounds great doing ‘Don’t Stop Believin’. As a whole, ”Greatest Hits Relaunched” is pleasant way yo re-discover this timeless songs, and to hear Mickey Thomas recording again.
Highly Recommended


01 – We Built This City (Re-Record)
02 – Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now (Re-Record)
03 – Sara (Re-Record)
04 – Jane (Re-Record)
05 – Find Your Way Back (Re-Record)
06 – Laying It on the Line (Re-Record)
07 – No Way Out (Re-Record)
08 – It’s Not over (’til It’s over) (Re-Record)
09 – Stranger
10 – It’s Not Enough (Re-Record)
11 – Rock Music
12 – Winds of Change
13 – Wild Again
14 – Fooled Around and Fell in Love
15 – Don’t Stop Believin’
16 – Carry On My Wayward Son

Mickey Thomas – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
John Roth – guitar, backing vocals
Phil Bennett – keyboards, backing vocals
Darrell Verdusco – drums, backing vocals
Jeff Adams – bass, backing vocals
Cian Coey – vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.