URGENT – Point Of No Return (2021)

URGENT - Point Of No Return (2021) full

There’s a few melodic hard rock bands named URGENT, this one hailing from France, an experienced five-piece formed at the end of the Nineties. “Point Of No Return” is their third album, and while ten years passed by since their last CD the band hasn’t lost the grip. In fact, we’re benefited by a refined songwriting, polished.
URGENT loves classic melodic hard rock embellished with keyboards and harmony vocals, with some AOR here and there, and a certain edge on a couple of tracks from “Point Of No Return”. All are enjoyable tunes with bright production and cool hooks n’ choruses.

On the traditional melodic hard rock we find titles such as “Little By Little”, “One Last Ride” or “Moon Is Rising”, driven by melodious riffs while sporting sweet harmonies.
Midtempo “Meets The Eyes” is quite AORish and a highlight, while Urgent display a harder edge within the rocking “Rise Up”, “Reach For The Skies”, and “Tell Us A Lie”.

URGENT’s delivery is tight, clear, thanks to the polished production and the precise mix where all instruments, lead vocals and multi-part harmonies are perfectly distinguishable – you can actually hear the ‘bass guitar’.
As a whole, “Point Of No Return” is a really entertaining and well crafted album which flows nicely delivering 44 minutes of classy melodic hard rock.
Highly Recommended


01 – Moon Is Rising
02 – Silence
03 – Now or Never
04 – Reach for the Skies
05 – Meets the Eyes
06 – Little by Little
07 – One Last Ride
08 – Rise Up
09 – Ivory Tower
10 – Tell Us a Lie (2021)
11 – The Wild and the Young (2021)

Yvan Quiblier – Vocals
Yves Delelo – Drums, Choirs
Stéphane Rabilloud – Guitars, Keyboards, Choirs
Pierre Caci – Guitars
Didier Teixeira – Bass, Choirs



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.