SWEET COMFORT BAND – Breakin’ The Ice [Digitally Remastered] *0dayrox Exclusive*

SWEET COMFORT BAND - Breakin' The Ice [Digitally Remastered] full

As requested, here’s the SWEET COMFORT BAND second album, 1978’s “Breakin’ The Ice“, on its digipak remastered version by Retroactive. Often compared to Chicago, Blood Sweat & Tears, or the Doobie Brothers, the SCB sound at the time was a brand of FM rock, pop &rock, Soft rock and some West Coast AOR.
Sweet Comfort Band had a lot going for them, including prodigious talent, West Coast breeziness, and a sharp knack of coming up with strong tunes. In this case, they also had impeccable production on one of those organic releases where everything blends perfectly with everything else.
“Breakin’ The Ice” not only has it not dated, but this remastered edition makes the sound clearer than ever.

Guitar harmonics work alongside nimble synth lines; the smooth atmospheres stab in just the right places and the three-part harmonies coat the sound in a layer sweet, tasty and pleasurable as chocolate sauce. Kevin Thomson’s energetic basslines and Randy Thomas’s guitar cut a nice groove over the synths and Bryan Duncan’s clean lead voice.

Standouts include the upbeat opener “Got To Believe” where the pair trade vocals, and the funky pop perfection of the title cut. The pounding “Searching For Love” highlights the blue eyed plaintive soul vocals of Duncan and the effective groove of the Thompson brothers’ rhythms section.
The closing “I Love You With My Life” has remained a favourite for Duncan who penned the tune and has re-recorded it a number of times over the years.

This is easy to recommend for fans of the late Seventies FM radio because it has bits to please everybody without compromising anything. The sound is generally a mix of blues and rock sensibilities, all wrapped up in the singability of pop and spangled with shiny hooks.
Highly Recommended


01 – Got to Believe
02 – Breakin’ the Ice
03 – Young Girl
04 – Melody / Harmony
05 – I Need Your Love Again
06 – Good Feelin’
07 – Searchin’ for Love
08 – The Lord is Calling
09 – I Love You With My Life

Bryan Duncan – Keyboards, Vocals
Randy Thomas – Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Vocals
Kevin Thomson – Bass
Rick Thomson – Drums, Vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.