ROXY BLUE – Want Some? [Japan HR/HM 1000 Vol.4 series] (2022) HQ

ROXY BLUE - Want Some? [Japan HR/HM 1000 Vol.4 series] (2022) full

Universal Music Japan has started this year another campaign of their ‘HR/HM 1000‘ series, that meaning the reissue of long time out of print albums from their Hard Rock / Heavy Metal catalog at the price of 1000 Yen = about 9,5 USD.
As part of the 2022 HR-HM 1000 Vol.4 series there’s ROXY BLUE‘s kicking second 1992’s album ”Want Some?”, for years out of print.
History tells that ROXY BLUE was discovered by WARRANT singer Jani Lane, who helped the guys to get a record deal. Jani did some backing vocals here (as well as the greats Jimi Jamison and Tommy Funderburk) so it’s no surprise that ROXY BLUE sounds a lot like WARRANT or TRIXTER, however the Roxy’s were pretty unique, with a bluesy foundation and a bit of an early VAN HALEN / SKID ROW edge.

“Want Some?” is a killer collection of catchy, toe-tapping hard rock tunes with a polished production courtesy of Mike Clink, the who’s responsible for GNR’s Appetite For Destruction.
It’s guitar driven album with high-octane guitar shreds, where “Too Hot To Handle” crank up the heat, and the intensity is maintained through “Rob The Cradle”, “Main Attraction”, “Talk of the Town” (it sounds like it could have been on a Skid Row CD), and a superb cover of The Who‘s “Squeeze Box”.

“Luv on Me” showed their tender melodic side, and the best-of-it-all is the loudest fast-pace “Love’s Got A Hold On Me”. Of course no melodic hard band from the era would be without the heartfelt power ballad, and in this case it is “Times Are Changin’”.

Speaking of the ‘era’, unfortunately Roxy Blue and “Want Some?” arrived too late into the scene. With quality songs and great musicianship the group deserved more recognition, but aside from “Rob The Cradle” appearing on MTV a few times, grunge had started flooding the mainstream and bands such as Roxy Blue were doomed.
However, for us, “Want Some?” remains as one of the greatest US hard rock albums from the late ’80s / early ’90s. Bad-ass band with a bad timing, but believe me, this is an impeccable stunning album you should have.


HR / HM  10 0 0

01 – Too Hot To Handle
02 – Sister Sister
03 – Times Are Changin’
04 – It’s So Easy
05 – Rob The Cradle
06 – Squeeze Box
07 – Talk Of The Town
08 – Rock-A-Bye Baby
09 – Luv On Me
10 – Nobody Knows
11 – Love’s Got A Hold On Me
12 – Main Attraction

Todd Poole – vocals and guitar
Sid “Boogie” Fletcher – guitar and background vocals
Josh Weil – bass and background vocals
Scotty T – drums, percussion and background vocals

Additional Musicians:
Jimi Jamison – background vocals
Jani Lane – background vocals
Tommy Funderburk – background vocals



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Scupp says:

    Cracking album. Shoulda made it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.