DeGARMO & KEY – This Time Thru [Digitally Remastered] (2021) *0dayrox Exclusive*

DeGARMO & KEY - This Time Thru [Digitally Remastered] (2021) *0dayrox Exclusive* full

As requested, here’s another of the recently remastered albums (for the first time) from duo DeGARMO & KEY, who in fact were a full band led by keyboardist Eddie DeGarmo: and frontman / guitarist Dana Key. DeGarmo & Key were forerunners and pioneers of early CCM rock, but their music transcended outside religious circles and reached several markets all over their 3-decade career.
This Time Thru” is the debut album from DeGARMO & KEY from 1978, an LP that really needed a sonic refresh, now remastered by Rob Colwell (Bombworks Sound) with a pristine sound quality.
DeGARMO & KEY’s style always has been sweet rock&pop melodic oriented according to times, however on this debut, alongside the FM radio friendly harmonies the band shows some progressive feeling, accessible but elaborated melodies with some KANSAS, even STYX on it.

This 1978 debut album from DeGarmo & Key is one of their best. It has a range of styles with htat lovely late Seventies sound production which doesn’t sound outdated at all.
From the opening acoustic guitar intro to “Emmanuel,” which soon explodes into a classic rock song filled with keyboards, guitar solos, and passionate singing, one is ushered into a sound that was every bit as high quality as anything being released in the mainstream market.

Elements of progressive rock appear in songs such as “Too Far, Too Long,” which features a keyboard intro that echoes the work of Keith Emerson, and “Chase the Wind,” which features elements that would be at home in a KANSAS song.
Then there’s the campfire rock flow of “Sleeper,” the grooving shuffle of their cover of the traditional “Wayfaring Stranger,” and the title track, which closes the album and features a keyboard solo in the vein of STYX.
All in all, ”This Time Thru”, released in 1978, has stood the test of time and sounds great with this remastering enhance.
Highly Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Emmanuel
02 – Addey
03 – Only The Meek Survive
04 – (Gone, Gone, Gone) Too Far, Too Long
05 – Alleyways Of Strife
06 – Sleeper
07 – Wayfaring Stranger
08 – In Thy Days Of Thy Youth
09 – Chase The Wind
10 – This Time Thru

Keyboards, Synths, Vocals on 9 – Edward DeGarmo
Lead Vocals, Guitars – Dana Key
Bass, Percussion – Ken Porter
Drums – David Spain, Max Richardson
Backing Vocals – Joe Hardy, Phyliss Duncan, William C. Brown III



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Wayfaring Stranger says:

    thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.