MECCA – 20 Years [3xCD + bonus tracks] (2022) *0dayrox Exclusive*

MECCA - 20 Years [3xCD + bonus tracks] (2022) *0dayrox Exclusive* full

Frontiers Records will release next Friday “20 Years”, a best of collection assembling the works of MECCA, the classic AOR band started by vocalist Joe Vana two decades ago.
When he was only 13 years old, Joe Vana’s life was forever changed through a chance meeting with Survivor’s Jim Peterik. But, it wasn’t until he was 28 years when Joe became Peterik’s in-house demo singer for many years. Joe and Jim eventually created a band called Project Voyager, which ultimately morphed into Mecca.
In 2002, Mecca released their debut self-titled album which featured David Hungate (ex-Toto) on bass, Shannon Forrest (Toto) on drums, Fergie Frederiksen (ex-Toto) and Joe on vocals, Mike Aquino (Pride of Lions) on guitars and Jimmy Nichols on keyboards. “Mecca” created a sonic treasure that was more than well-received by the Melodic Rock/AOR community.
Fans had a nine year wait for the follow-up album, but it was worth it: “Undeniable” appeared in 2011, an then “III” in 2016.
“20 Years” packs all three albums, all with bonus tracks. A Must Have for any discerning AOR fan.

Several years in the making, “Undeniable” (2011) saw Vana working with Swedish guitarist Christian Wolff and producer / songwriter / guitarist Tommy Denander. The results were again breathtaking, an album which perfectly melded the outstanding high-tech AOR approach of Mr. Mister’s “Welcome to the Real World” to the sheer commercial brilliance of Toto’s “The Seventh One”.

In 2016, the “III” album finally saw the light of day, a record that would have topped AOR charts back in the glory days of the genre. The list of players involved is impressive: Shannon Forrest (Toto), Pat Mastelotto (Mr Mister, King Crimson), David Hungate (ex-Toto), Tony Levin (Peter Gabriel), Mike Aquino (Pride of Lions), Christian Wolff and Joe’s son Joey on guitar.
In Toto’s Steve Lukather words: “Killer new music! Great songs! Great playing from everyone … and Joe’s vocals are better than ever! Smooth, real and soulful. I love the ‘surprise modulations’ that are now his style which make this a great listen for fans of his and the entire genre of melodic rock music. Creative arrangements throughout and I love the synth/keyboard work. David Hungate is amazing as is Shannon Forrest on drums and production. Great sounds and killer guitars all over it! Can’t say which track is my fave yet, cause I love all of them. Summing it up in 3 words: Well f***ing done!”

Whether for the uninitiated or for those who are due to revisit Mecca, “20 Years” is a must have.

Only at 0dayrox


CD 1 – Mecca
01 – Velocitized
02 – Without You
03 – Can’t Stop Love
04 – Silence Of The Heart
05 – You Still Shock Me
06 – Mecca
07 – Wishing Well
08 – Close That Gap
09 – Blinded By Emotion
10 – Falling Down
11 – Miss-Chevious (Bonus Track)

CD 2 – Undeniable
01 – Perfect World
02 – Closing Time
03 – Ten Lifetimes
04 – Life’s too Short
05 – I Know
06 – Did It for Love
07 – From the Start
08 – Deceptive Decadence
09 – W2W
10 – Undeniable
11 – As I Walk Alone
12 – How Many Times (Bonus Track)

CD 3 – III
01 – Take My Hand
02 – Unknown
03 – Alone
04 – Gone
05 – Cry
06 – A Kiss On The Wind
07 – Let It Go
08 – Believe
09 – Alone (Re-imagined Version) [Bonus Track]
10 – Unknown (Re-imagined Version) [Bonus Track]
11 – Know (Demo) [Bonus Track]
12 – Ten Lifetimes (Demo) [Bonus Track]

Joe Vana : Lead vocals
Fergie Frederiksen : Lead vocals
Mike Aquino : Guitars
David Hungate : Bass Guitar
Shannon Forest, Pat Mastelotto : Drums & Percussion
Jimmy Nichols : Keyboards


Pre Order:

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Derrick says:

    Thank you .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.