KORN – Requiem [2022]

KORN - Requiem [2022] full

While KoRn music isn’t among our favorites, you can’t deny the band’s originality; their self-titled debut was a record that would pioneer a genre, while the band’s enduring success points to a larger cultural moment. The band have continued to push the limits of the alternative rock / metal genres, while remaining a as strong influence for legions of fans and generations of artists around the globe.
KoRn will release their new album ”Requiem” tomorrow, a cause for celebration for their fans despite there being little celebration in the music itself. One doesn’t listen to KoRn for songs about butterflies, fans want to hear about the anger of ripping the wings off and then a sincere expression of the guilt for destroying said wings.
And on ”Requiem” they deliver, a very well recorded & produced album in its genre.

Since 1994, the Californian quintet have regularly released albums that encompass their core sound of downtuned guitars, thick bass and Jonathan Davis’ multifaceted vocal approach. To the band’s credit, they experiment with accompaniment to this core, often with the help of outside songwriters.
”Requiem” continues down this path. Whilst undeniably heavy, there are melodic moments with strong hooks that will engage long time fans.

First single ‘Start the Healing’ is a fair representation of what to expect. Instantly recognisable as KoRn, but undeniably more pop-like in the chorus, it’s a decent ear worm with a good riff. Despite the trademark muddiness that comes from their 7-string guitars, it’s a cleaner sounding song than their classic era. It fits nicely amongst the ‘radio metal’ singles of today.

Tracks like ‘Disconnect’ use keys to increase the drama on the chorus, working with the guitars, before getting down hard on the bridge. On the other hand, ‘Let the Dark do the Rest’ is suitably gothic on the verses but really thunders on the chorus. Both songs are catchy and worth repeat listens.
‘Lost in the Grandeur’ stands out too as the guitarists scratch the strings like an LP. Davis’ vocal performance is strong with a big melodic hook and the slap bass has a better presence in the mix. The breakdown is an atmospheric lament that gives way to a heavier section of sheer frustration.

There’s still heavy moments too, though rarely is a song nu-brutal all the way through with the band now well versed in utilising the soft-hard dynamic.
‘Forgotten’ is a great opener with a fat guitar sound and Davis switching between clean singing and yelling. The whole thing is built to open a setlist with huge mosh pit potential. ‘Hopeless and Beaten’ has a huge Black Sabbath thing happening on the intro riff, but is also quite goth-emo in other parts.
Songs like ‘Penance to Sorrow’ and ‘My Confession’ have a touch of the old school groove and hip hop rhythms the band are known for. Neither offer something new to the KoRn kannon but are decent enough album tracks.

Closer ‘Worst is on its Way’ sums things up nicely. There’s an effect accompanying the riffs with Davis, as pessimistic as ever, moving effortlessly from croon to scat to roar. It’s a great little throwback number, capturing some of the vibe of ‘Freak on a Leash’ without flat out repeating it.
And that is what much of ”Requiem” is about: it’s faithful without just copying the past, but it hardly breaks new ground. Fans can take solace in the fact that, after all the band have been through, they are still cranking out records on a regular basis.
”Requiem” isn’t going to change your life, but it’s benefited by its short runtime, punchy pop sheen and hooky (dark) choruses. After more than 25 years I reckon that’s OK for a band who are comfortable with what they do.


01 – Forgotten
02 – Let The Dark Do The Rest
03 – Start The Healing
04 – Lost In The Grandeur
05 – Disconnect
06 – Hopeless And Beaten
07 – Penance To Sorrow
08 – My Confession
09 – Worst Is On Its Way


Pre Order:

1 Response

  1. Anonymous says:

    Cool, thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.