DIO – The Ronnie James Dio Story; Mightier Than The Sword [Japan 2xSHM-CD Edition] *HQ*

DIO - The Ronnie James Dio Story; Mightier Than The Sword [Japan 2xSHM-CD Edition] full

The depth of loss felt within the Rock and Metal communities by the passing of Ronnie James Dio on the 16th May 2010 was immense, and is testament to the high esteem with which the man and his legacy is held. As a fitting reminder of this legacy, “The Ronnie James Dio Story : Mightier Than The Sword” is a fantastic a 2-disc collection celebrating over three decades of music from one of the greatest vocalists in the entire history of Hard Rock / Metal.
This Japanese edition on SHM-CD simply sounds awesome, perfect mastering bringing all the details of these amazing songs.

As lead vocalist to such Rock giants as Rainbow and Black Sabbath, as well as fronting his own eponymous band for nearly three decades, Dio created some of the genres most defining and respected works.
Albums such as Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, Rainbow Rising and Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll for Ritchie’s post Deep Purple band Rainbow; then Heaven And Hell, Mob Rules, Dehumanizer and Live Evil for the mighty Black Sabbath and with his own band Dio, albums such as Holy Diver, The Last In Line and Sacred Heart, all stand as towering monuments of sheer class and brilliance in the Rock pantheon.
As a live performer, Dio knew few equals. With his lions roar and incredible vocal range, the front-man presided over countless memorable rock shows, delighting millions of fans all over the world.

With two Discs full of Dio from early to late, we hear it where it all began with Elf, and Carolina County Ball from their 1972 eponymous debut album. Leading on to Dio’s time spent with Rainbow bassist and producer Roger Glover and his solo album The Butterfly Ball And The Grasshoppers Feast from which the song “Love Is All” is taken from.

The next eight tracks are then naturally centered around Dio’s time with Rainbow include tracks ‘Stargazer’, ‘Kill The King’ and ‘Gates Of Babylon’ which rank among some of the greatest rock tracks ever recorded and although Blackmore’s band was steered somewhat haphazardly at times, Ronnie James Dio’s consistently supreme vocal contribution over their three studio albums and one live release, ensured a level of artistic excellence was maintained and still stands as a hallmark to some of the very best music in the rock field.

Also included are tracks from Dio’s time spent as lead vocalist with Black Sabbath. Dio had given Sabbath a new lease of life and the two titanic studio albums they recorded during the early 80s, Heaven And Hell (1980) and Mob Rules (1981), hold some of Metal’s greatest tracks.

The version of ‘Mob Rules’ featured here is actually the early version which was used in the soundtrack to the film celebrating the comic books ‘Heavy Metal’.

Representing Dio’s time spent at the helm of his own band are the colossal title track and ‘Rainbow In The Dark’ from the debut album, Holy Diver (1983).
Also, featured are ‘We Rock’ from the follow-up, The Last In Line album (1984); ‘Rock ‘N’ Roll Children’ from Sacred Heart (1985) and ‘All The Fools Sailed Away’ from Dream Evil (1987).

The track ‘Push’ represents Dio’s Killing The Dragon album released in 2002 and the final track from Dio (the band) is the opening track from the very last album, Master Of The Moon, released in 2004.

The RONNIE JAMES DIO Story : Mightier Than The Sword

A further two tracks under the Black Sabbath brand also appear – ‘I’ from the first reunion album Dehumanizer in 1992 and also ‘Shadow Of The Wind’ which was a brand new track recorded exclusively for the compilation, Black Sabbath: The Dio Years and first released in 2007.

Rounding off The Ronnie James Dio Story: Mightier Than The Sword are two tracks recorded during the second reunion Dio undertook with his old Sabbath cohorts, though this time reunited under the banner of that first album, Heaven And Hell.
‘Neon Knights’ is the live version which appeared on the album Live At Radio City Music Hall (2007) and ‘Bible Black’ from The Devil You Know, which was the final studio album Dio recorded with Heaven And Hell in 2008.

“The Ronnie James Dio Story : Mightier Than The Sword” is a comprehensive, beautifully remastered and packaged 2 SHM-CD set which provides the perfect gateway for listeners looking to get Ronnie Dio’s career wisely summarized.



01 – Carolina County Ball (with Elf)
02 – Love Is All (with Roger Glover & Friends)
03 – The Temple Of The King (with Rainbow)
04 – Catch The Rainbow (with Rainbow)
05 – Stargazer (with Rainbow)
06 – Run With The Wolf (with Rainbow)
07 – Kill The King (with Rainbow)
08 – Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll (with Rainbow)
09 – Lady Of The Lake (with Rainbow)
10 – Gates Of Babylon (with Rainbow)
11 – Die Young (with Black Sabbath)
12 – Heaven And Hell (with Black Sabbath)
13 – Children Of The Sea (with Black Sabbath)

01 – The Mob Rules (with Black Sabbath)
02 – Voodoo (with Black Sabbath)
03 – Country Girl (with Black Sabbath)
04 – Holy Diver (with Dio)
05 – Rainbow In The Dark (with Dio)
06 – We Rock (with Dio)
07 – Rock ‘n’ Roll Children (with Dio)
08 – All The Fools Sailed Away (with Dio)
09 – I (with Black Sabbath)
10 – Push (with Dio)
11 – One More For The Road (with Dio)
12 – Shadow Of The Wind (with Black Sabbath)
13 – Neon Knights (Live) (with Heaven & Hell)
14 – Bible Black (with Heaven & Hell)


out of print

You may also like...

2 Responses


    I miss him dearly. I can’t believe it has been almost 12 years.

  2. Barry says:

    Saw Ronnie James with Ritchie Blackmore in Wilkes-Barre on the rainbow rising tour… greatest show I’ve ever seen!!! Between Blackmores awesome guitar work & Dio,s powerful vocals & theatrics,,,it’s one of the fondest memories of my life!!!!RIP brother… you will always live in my mind.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.