STEVE DALTON (feat David A. Saylor) – Primitive (2022)

STEVE DALTON (feat David A. Saylor) - Primitive (2022) full

Despite the album cover makes you think of heavy metal, the upcoming new record from STEVE DALTON is a collection of songs inspired by the pure melodic hard rock / AOR sound so popular in Scandinavia in the second half of the ’80s.
Steve Dalton is mainly guitarist / songwriter who was born in Sheffield, England and now is living in Sölvesborg in Southern Sweden. In 2016, Steve Dalton started a first solo project called Steel City which consisted of demos featuring Alessandro Del Vecchio (Hardline, Edge Of Forever) on vocals.
Now 2022 Dalton wrote another set of songs which culminated in his debut album “Primitive” to be released this weekend. All compositions were written by the artist himself who also played all instruments. Production was handled by Raphael Gazal who performed lead vocals on 7 out of the 9 tracks. The other 2 tracks feature English vocalist Ross Griggs and the late, great AOR singer David A. Saylor.
“Primitive” is plenty of melody, strong guitar work, lots of keys / synths, and powerful vocals, and as said, fan of Scandi melodic hard rock from the Eighties will love this CD.


01 – Road To Redemption
02 – Shapeshifter
03 – 2020
04 – Listen To The Wiseman
05 – Rise Above / Victory (David Saylor on vocals)
06 – Digital Prison
07 – Bloodstained Eyes (Ross Griggs on vocals)
08 – Salome – Usurper
09 – Where Did The Years Go

All instruments: Steve Dalton
Vocals: Raphael Gazal
Vocals on “Rise Above/ Victory”: David A. Saylor
Vocals on “Bloodstained Eyes”: Ross Griggs


Pre order;

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.