ROYAL HUNT – Dystopia Part II (2022)

ROYAL HUNT - Dystopia Part II (2022) - full

Melodic progsters ROYAL HUNT will release their new studio album “Dystopia Part II“, the second and final part of the concept work will again feature guest performers: Mats Leven (Skyblood, Vandenberg), Mark Boals (Y.J. Malmsteen, Ring of Fire), Henrik Brockman (Royal Hunt, Evil Masquerade), Kenny Lubcke (Narita, Zoser Mez) and Alexandra Andersen (Royal Hunt, JSP).
On “Dystopia – Part II” ROYAL HUNT keep expanding their trademark sound. As the story which inspired the project – Ray Bradbury´s classic novel “Fahrenheit 451” – gets more intense towards the end, the music turns into more dynamic, heavier direction.
Once again the guest singers add even more dramatic contrasts to an already cinematic yet solidly rocking soundscape.

The album is packed with strong progressive values: killer guitar solos, energetic and catchy choruses, and a grandiose concept. This is combined with symphonic arrangements which really builds on the epicness of the work when it needs to.
That trademark sound of Royal Hunt are all displayed on opener “Midway (Resumption) / Thorn In My Heart”. Up-tempo classic moves are all here featuring the thundering DC Cooper vocals we come to expect and enjoy. An 8-minute epic of various shifts and rhythms fulfills that long-time fans will always appreciate.

“Live Another Day” continues the groove and majestic keys that have always been predominantly filled in past Royal Hunt songs. Midway through, the pace slows down and Cooper reprises in all its prog glory, a nice change of pace.
“The Purge” is a cool piece that feels like a symphonic jam between Andre Andersen, keys vs guitars courtesy of outstanding axeman Jonas Larsen. This tune has a strong connection to “Black Butterflies” in Part I.

Next, we have “One More Shot” featuring guest vocals of Mark Boals (former Royal Hunt) and Henrik Brockmann (original Royal Hunt vocalist) as they sing with Cooper on the song. The chorus trade-off compliments each vocalist to perfection. The steady pace features another tune that only Royal Hunt could deliver. Very cool to hear the previous vocalists on this one, well-done guys.

With Dystopia Part II you have a musical continuation to the first part, and in a way I give the guys credit for blending in the different singers, bringing something different to the table and deciding to still make music after such a long back catalog of music.
Royal Hunt has been making great Rock music for a long time and deserve your attention.
Highly Recommended


01 – Midway (Resumption)
02 – Thorn in My Heart
03 – The Key of Insanity
04 – Live Another Day
05 – The Purge
06 – One More Shot
07 – Scream of Anger
08 – Left in the Wind
09 – Resurrection F451

André Andersen – keyboards
DC Cooper – vocals
Andreas Passmark – bass
Jonas Larsen – guitars
Andreas HABO Johansson – drums


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.