RAF (David Valentine) – Restless Spirit (1986) [Digital Reissue]

RAF (David Valentine) - Restless Spirit (1986) [Digital Reissue] - full

Scottish-based group RAF (also known as R.A.F.) revolved around David Valentine (vocals/keyboards) and Douglas Bogie (guitar). RAF first album released 1980, the segue is of the original demos which sealed the deal with A&M Records, Los Angeles in 1980. At the time David had to slip a few dollars to a security guard to get into A&M Records, and got a five minute meeting with Bob Schualmann, he loved it and sent the tape straight to David Kershenbaum, head of A&R at their New York office, and then flew on the red eye to sign RAF in Los Angeles.
The self-titled debut album was recorded in George Martin’s Air Studio, London, and then mixed in Cherokee, Los Angeles. Melodic and with nice hooks, the LP sold well and RAF recorded a second work appeared 1981. Unfortunately the group disbanded but David Valentine kept the RAF moniker.

In the mid-Eighties David decided to record a new album as RAF, although he was the only original member so it should be considerd a solo album. With the aid of London-based session musicians he pre-produced the new songs in his own recording studio in Edinburgh.
With a Lite AOR / Hi Tech / FM Rock&pop sound, the album titled “Restless Spirit” was released 1986. Despite interest in US musical circles, the album was not a commercial success. However this is fine slice of mid-Eighties melodic AOR, reissued on digital format for the first time.

For “Restless Spirit” David took over all the keyboard parts, guitar and vocals, Tony Beard on drums, Rab Howat on lead guitar, Dave Sinclair on bass, and Bob Heatlie guest on sax.
The album was pre-produced and written at at David’s Heartbeat Studio and then recorded and mixed at Castle Sound, Pencaitland, by Calum Malcolm, Chris Harley & David.
The track “We Can Only Dream” was recorded at Leadervale Studio by Bob Heatlie, and was the official theme for the Edinburgh Commonwealth Games and featured many of the Scottish athletes.

As said, this is mid-80s Lite AOR with Hi-Tech moments, melodic, with a lot of cool keyboards, big drums, and David’s clean voice.
Highly Recommended


1 – Dream Boy
2 – Only the Heart Can Tell
3 – Steal Your Love
4 – Restless Spirit
5 – Faces in the Windshield
6 – Woman Like You
7 – Stranger in the Mirror
8 – We Can Only Dream
9 – It’s Only Love

David Valentine – Vocals, Keyboards, Guitar, Synths
Rab Howat – Lead Guitar
Dave Sinclair – Bass
Tony Beard – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.