METAL CHURCH – The Elektra Years 1984-1989 (Cherry Red / HNE 3CD Box Set + bonus) *Exclusive*

METAL CHURCH - The Elektra Years 1984-1989 (Cherry Red / HNE 3CD Box Set + bonus) *Exclusive* - full

METAL CHURCH are one of the few thrash metal bands outside of the so called Big 4 (Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer and Anthrax) that is critically revered and loved by fans and it’s pretty easy to see why. A pioneer band in the genre without a doubt.
As requested, here’s Cherry Red Records / Hear No Evil 3xCD Remastered Gatefold Digisleeve “The Elektra Years 1984-1989“, pulling together METAL CHURCH most acclaimed LP’s, their first 3 albums from the ’80s with Elektra Records, including bonus tracks.
‘Metal Church’ (1984), ‘The Dark’ (1986) and ‘Blessing in Disguise’ (1989) are not only incredible sounding (thanks to the remaster) but still musically relevant today. They’re a fine example of mid to late ’80s thrash.

The production of the 1st album may not be greatest in history, but the music is raw as hell thanks to the 3 tracks from their Four Hymns demo tape but also the cover of Deep Purple’s ‘Highway Star’. This was the introduction of Metal Church to the masses. Even though they had shifted 70,000 copies before signing to Elektra.

CD 2 on this release featured Metal Church‘s classic album ‘The Dark’ which had better production value handled with Mark Dodson, known for his work with Ozzy Osbourne, Judas Priest and Ugly Kid Joe. The album made a significant dent on the Billboard Top 100 charts, aided by the video for ‘Watch The Children Pray’ plus the single ‘Start The Fire’.
There’s some amazing kick ass tracks on this CD like ‘Watch The Children Pray’ (also included as bonus in its remixed version), ‘Start The Fire’ with its rangy swagger and amazing chorus, the horror movie ode extraordinaire title track, the killer ‘Ton of Bricks’, and more.

The final CD on this collection is the critically acclaimed ‘Blessing In Disguise’. This is regarded as Metal Church‘s defining album. Changing vocalists was a challenge to get over, new guy Mike Howe clearly having less of an immediate sonic impact than David Wayne, yet adding another dimension to the band.
Once again better production than the previous and also slightly heavier (yes, it’s possible). An absolute blinder of an album.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


CD 1 – Metal Church:
01 – Beyond the Black
02 – Metal Church
03 – Merciless Onslaught
04 – Gods of Wrath
05 – Hitman
06 – In the Blood
07 – (My Favorite) Nightmare
08 – Battalions
09 – Highway Star


CD 2 – The Dark:
01 – Ton of Bricks
02 – Start the Fire
03 – Method to My Madness
04 – Watch the Children Pray
05 – Over My Dead Body
06 – The Dark
07 – Psycho
08 – Line of Death
09 – Burial at Sea
10 – Western Alliance
Bonus Track:
11 – Watch the Children Play (Vocal Edit)


CD 3 – Blessing in Disguise:
01 – Fake Healer
02 – Rest In Pieces (April 15, 1912)
03 – Badlands
04 – Of Unsound Mind
05 – Anthem to the Estranged
06 – The Spell Can’t Be Broken
07 – It’s a Secret
08 – Cannot Tell a Lie
09 – The Powers That Be
Bonus Tracks:
10 – Badlands (Edit) [Radio mix]
11 – Fake Healer (Edit) [Radio mix]


David Wayne (R.I.P. 2005) – Vocals
Mike Howe (R.I.P. 2021) – Vocals
Kurdt Vanderhoof – Guitars
Craig Wells – Guitars
John Marshall – Guitars
Duke Erickson – Bass
Kirk Arrington (R.I.P. 2023) – Drums, Percussion



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.