SCORPIONS – Tokyo Tapes (50th band anniversary Deluxe Edition) *HQ*

EYES (Jeff Scott Soto) - 24U [2-CD Set] Out Of Print - full

To celebrate their 50th band anniversary, SCORPIONS released the 50th Anniversary Deluxe Editions of all their most famous albums. 1965 marks the starting point of one of the most successful rock bands of our time. Hailing from Hannover, Germany, SCORPIONS embarked on a journey that would lead them around the globe and would establish them as one of the greatest rock bands of all time.
For the occasion Scorpions open their vaults to unleash hitherto unreleased songs, alternative versions of big hits, unreleased concerts and more.
In addition to dozens of unheard studio tracks and live recordings, all albums are remastered, equipped with extended booklets featuring rare photos and single covers, backstage passes and additional liner notes by Edgar Klüsener, a former editor in chief of Metal Hammer who has followed the band’s career closely over several decades.

Tokyo Tapes” is the first Scorpions live album, documenting two shows in Tokyo the band performed in the Nakano Sun Plaza in 1978. It was also the last Scorpions release with Jon Uli Roth on guitar which gives the recording a special weight.
Surprising is the excellent quality of this live recording especially when considering the year of 1978 when technical possibilities were limited compared to modern times. This fresh remaster has made it even more crisp.

SCORPIONS - Tokyo Tapes (50th band anniversary Deluxe Edition) (2015) cd photo

Also, the reissue of this iconic live album is quite special: for the first time are available the two shows originally recorded in its full. The previous release of “Tokyo Tapes” selected the tracklist from both shows to fit the physical formats
So you have unreleased live versions of “Polar nights”, “Hell Cat”, “Robot Man”, “Catch the Train”, “He’s a Woman – She’s a Man” and as well as “Kimi Ga Yo”, the national anthem of Japan performed by the guys from Hannover. What a special moment.

“Tokyo Tapes” was considered at the time an iconic hard rock live recording. Scorpions still tried to find some solid ground in Europe while they have been already quite popular in the land of the rising sun, that’s why they decided to record the album in Tokyo.
“Tokyo Tapes” still sounds million bucks – even more with this fresh remastering – and energetic. But enriched by the additional songs this anniversary edition is ‘a must‘ for each serious metal collection.
Highly Recommended


CD 1:
01. All Night Long
02. Pictured Life
03. Backstage Queen
04. Polar Nights
05. In Trance
06. We’ll Burn The Sky
07. Suspender Love
08. In Search Of The Peace Of Mind
09. Fly To The Rainbow
10. He’s A Woman – She’s A Man
11. Speedy’s Coming
12. Top Of The Bill
13. Hound Dog
14. Long Tall Sally
15. Steamrock Fever
16. Dark Lady
17. Kjo No Tsuki


CD 2:
01. Robot Man
BONUS TRACKS Previously Unreleased (Japan 27.04.1978):
02. Hell Cat
03. Catch Your Train
04. Kimi Ga Yo (Japanese Hymn)
05. Polar Nights
06. He’s A Woman She’s A Man
07. Top Of The Bill
08. Robot Man

Klaus Meine – lead vocals
Ulrich Roth – guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals
Rudolf Schenker – guitar, backing vocals
Francis Buchholz – bass, backing vocals
Herman Rarebell – drums, percussion, backing vocals



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hola! Muchas gracias por toda la musica! Estaría bueno si se reeditó Virgin Killer y lo puedes postear ya que es mi favoirito! Gracias!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.