JEFF PARIS – Lucky This Time [Now&Then remaster + Japanese edition bonus tracks] *HQ*

JEFF PARIS - Lucky This Time [Now&Then remaster + Japanese edition bonus tracks] *HQ* - full

Prodigious American songwriter Geoffrey Leib aka JEFF PARIS has written songs with/for countless artists in the music business like Alias, Mr. Big, Brett Walker, Lita Ford, Vixen, Y&T, Paul Stanley, Michael Thompson, Sheena Easton, etc.
Accomplished musician as well, his opportunity as main solo artist came in the mid-Eighties with a major label deal releasing 2 superb albums; ‘Race To Paradise’ (’86) and ‘Wired Up’ (’87). During 1987 Paris toured successfully in the States on a ‘Double Thunder’ co-headlining package with the Canadian outfit REFUGEE.

But next year his record label drop the contract, then Jeff settle to work on demos for a future next album, amongst them the tapes recorded with his old friend, vocalist and songwriter Moon Calhoun (Moon Over Paris demos). Other show biz colleagues attended these sessions, guitarists Michael Thompson, Jan Kuehnemund (Vixen), Mike Gray (Skin), Brett Walker, however most the instruments are performed by Jeff Paris in person.
By 1993 a now defunct small UK label Now&Then offered Jeff to release these recordings on CD under the name “Lucky This Time”, an awesome collection of American melodic rock / AOR tunes to die for. Produced by himself, in our opinion this is Jeff Paris best solo record.
In 2008 appeared this now hard to come by remastered reissue from Now&Then. This version includes 2 tracks not present in the Japanese edition, but the latter includes 4 tracks exclusive for Asia.
We have here the best of both worlds: “Lucky This Timeremastered + the exclusive Japan Edition bonus tracks.

Relaxed in his own studio, Paris recorded these songs with the sound he wanted, polished and punchy melodic rock at the same time. And the songs are excellent.
“Wrong Side Of Love” and “House On Fire” were written in conjunction with Mr. BIG members. “Jump The Gun”, which sound like a mix between Def Leppard and KISS, was co-written with Paul Stanley. “Baby Break Mine” is a collaboration with Skin’s guitar-man Mike Gray, while the incredible “State Of The Heart” penned together with Vixen’s Jan Kuehnemund.
Then the mind-blowing “Stop Playin’ With My Heart” is simply one of the best MR / AOR melodies ever written / recorded.

“Lucky This Time” is a terrific American Melodic (hard) Rock album that despite released 1993 (1994 in Japan) it sounds 1988-1989. This not easy to find 2008 reissue has a ’90s type’ remastering, and you have as extras the 4 Japanese Edition bonus tracks – all really good!
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Lucky This Time
02 – Wrong Side Of Love
03 – House On Fire
04 – Touched By Love
05 – Never Stop Falling
06 – Jump The Gun
07 – Stop Playin’ With My Heart
08 – After The Tears Are Gone
09 – Baby Break Mine
10 – Rest In Pieces
11 – State Of The Heart
12 – Lifeline (UK Exclusive Track)
12 – Matter Of Time
14 – Gypsy Heart (UK Exclusive Track)

13 – Kissin’ Goodbye My Tears (Bonus Track For Japan)
14 – The Battle Of Love (Bonus Track For Japan)
15 – In The Prime Of Love (Bonus Track For Japan)
16 – Take Another Look (Bonus Track For Japan)

Jeff Paris : Vocals, All Instruments
Michael Thompson : Guitar
Jan Kuehnemund : Guitar
Brett Walker : Guitar, Backing Vocals
Mike Gray : Guitar
Moon Calhoun : Backing / Harmony Vocals


Try here

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.