BLACKRAIN – Hot Rock Time Machine (2024) *HQ*

BLACKRAIN - Hot Rock Time Machine (2024) *HQ* - full

Screaming fiercely at you in bright and vibrant colors, the artwork of their new album ‘Hot Rock Time Machine’ released today, joins BLACKRAIN’s past and present. Due to their first records ‘Lethal Dose’ (2011) and ‘It Begins’ (2013) are still unavailable on all major streaming platforms, nor as physical product, hard rock sleazy rockers BlackRain decided to re-record 5 tracks each of these albums making these crackers available by popular demand.
Add their musical maturation and the production guidance of Kissin’ Dynamite’s Hannes Braun, and you get presented 10 anthemic rock anthems boosting the band’s confidence. And indeed Confidence emits from these new recordings.
The band’s towering sleaze hard rock burgeoning with pride and force is handled very well on the newly recorded versions.

Standing tall a decade since, the songs almost immediately click with its listener. The raw and raucous tendencies captured well, they combust with hair metal massacre and sleaze dripping off the tracks, perfectly displayed on the roaring ”Overloaded”. Packed with heavy parading guitars, Swan Hellion brings gigantic momentum to the front. Rip-roaring are the raunchy riffs, well melted to the explicit badmouthing of Swan, while the addition of Franky Constanza on drums still proves the band’s tight fit for heaviness.
Thankfully the mix is open and transparent, so we also get bass player Matthieu de la Roche presented as driving force. He is a force that drives the music with powerful bass plucking and droning lows.

The raw and rocking accolades are brought forward on the ravishing ”She’s in Love” and the riff driven thumper ”Dancing on Fire”, then ”Shining Down on You” gains from its musical growth revealing Hanoi Rocks’ divine melodic spirit. Etching different rawness, they tap into the classic Mötley vein to unload heavier strut and swagger, with scorching guitars. Swirling guitar themes and keys press on the end of the nesting chorus.

Even more melodic BlackRain brings forward their acclaimed crowd pleasers ”Baby Shot Me Down” with Swan squalling in Fleischmann register. Gritty and raw the spaghetti western enters when BlackRain opens the wonderful ”Revolution”, its chorus memorable and sticky. The song is one of the better moments with its rousing chants and subtle musical additions.
Cliché laden the band roars with pride on the predictable stop ‘n hold driven ”Wild, Wild, Wild”, or the melodic live rouser ”Young Blood” with its warming guitar melodies and low end bass ploughs opening to the guitar swagger, furrowing the dynamic drum groove. The latter is radiant and dynamic, with Constanza leaning on progressive interplay switching fills. Hellion’s guitar solo is raw and dirty, spitting gravel while piercing high amidst its bluesy fretboard acceleration.

You can hear the band’s maturation on the re-recorded the semi-ballad ”Nobody but You”, that reaches a wonderful momentum. Gripping the hair metal heydays the song wells with great melodies and sterling hooks that would have landed them a hit single in those arena rock days. Swans moaning and pitches makes for excellence. The siren opened his virile rawness is subdued in effeminate clean wails and weeps.

‘Hot Rock Time Machine’ will be released on vinyl and CD, finally making available these tracks again. The re-recordings are a pleasant endeavor bridging the gap towards the band’s upcoming new release. And it is a great collection of songs to embark onto festival season. Hot n’ rockin’ album.
Highly Recommended


01 – Overloaded
02 – Baby Shot Me Down
03 – Wild Wild Wild
04 – She’s in Love
05 – Nobody but You
06 – Dancing on Fire
07 – Young Blood
08 – Shining Down on You
09 – Revolution
10 – Dead Boy

Swan Hellion
Matthieu de la Roche
Max Tew
Franky Costanza



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.