STONE MACHINE – American Honey (2012)

STONE MACHINE - American Honey (2012)


STONE MACHINE is a band made up of US, West Virginia local musicians but rose to national prominence when their 1st album was featured on the syndicated radio morning program ‘Lex and Terry’.

They received a very enthusiast thumbs up in the independent Classic Rock charts, selling good in Europe as well.

Stone Machine’s second album “American Honey”, despite its indie origin, is highly professionally performed, recorded and produced.

With its influences ranging from Bad Company and Free to Cry Of Love or Badlands in the hardest moments, the success of this disc resides on the talents of the band’s founders and stable members; Dirk Blevins and Jason Mays.

Blevins (formerly of Ten Years Gone) has warm and melodic yet moving guitar sound, playing the six-strings in the classic Montrose style, but also reminds you Richie Kotzen’s bluesy side.

Singer Jason Mayes is a revelation. The guy is the frontman of modern rockers Split Nixon, but here he shows a true vocal versatility going from some Robert Plant-like inflections to a wonderful Paul Rodgers personificacion.

All songs are pure Classic Rock sounding, with influences from both sides of the Atlantic. Opening with the title track reminiscent of early Bad Co., the CD does not stop to deliver classic sounds track after track.

Highlights include the Free influenced “Stone Cold” (great vocal job), the hot “Midnight Gypsy” and the pretty modern ballad “May You Run Forever”.

Sometimes Stone Machine goes a bit harder, as on the Fastway-like “Rock N’ Roll Queen”, “Better Days” with a Badlands scent, or “Speed Demon” where they remind me an old Sammy Hagar track.

Stone Machine plays Classic, bluesy (Hard) Rock with driving Les Paul guitars as main motto and passionate vocals all over.

“American Honey” is an album of 12 original songs written and played with obvious love for the genre, with no artistic commitments or concessions to any modern trends. It’s a sweet, lovable pure Classic Rock disc performed with style and recorded in the old way, with that enjoyable analog sound.

Well done guys!

01 – American Honey

02 – Stone Cold

03 – Rock N’ Roll Queen

04 – Long Road

05 – Better Days

06 – Corn Bread

07 – Shake That Thang

08 – Speed Demon

09 – Midnight Gypsy

10 – Bad Lovin’

11 – May You Run Forever

12 – Bye Baby Bye

Dirk Blevins – Guitars, Bass

Jason Mays – Vocals, Drums

Scott Ross – Drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.