MR. BLUE SKY – The Very Best Of Electric Light Orchestra (2012)

MR. BLUE SKY - The Very Best Of Electric Light Orchestra (2012) mp3, download, mediafire


JEFF LYNNE, one of rock’s most iconic figures, is returning to make some new waves and shed a little ‘electric light’.

The creative force of ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCHESTRA and the singularly accomplished singer, songwriter, guitarist and producer is releasing two albums via Frontiers Records: the solo disc ‘Long Wave’, a heartfelt and vivid tribute to some of the very songs that originally inspired him, and “Mr. Blue Sky: The Very Best Of Electric Light Orchestra”.

“Mr. Blue Sky: The Very Best Of Electric Light Orchestra”, like Long Wave, features Lynne playing all instruments, so it’s an ELO album in name only.

While the album raises the question of why Lynne ever needed the rest of the band in the studio, he has said the idea was to re-do the selected ELO songs the way he felt they should be done, making use of technological advances since they were originally released decades ago.

It’s hard to judge whether they are technically superior or not, but they are absolutely faithful to the originals for sure.

Also included as bonus track is the never before heard song “Point Of No Return” and a very special edition of “10538 Overture”.

To celebrate ELO’s 40th anniversary, instead of compiling a typical ‘Best Of’, Jeff Lynne has decided to re-record himself the band’s biggest hits.

To be honest, while this may make old school ELO fans shake with fear, Lynne actually did good. These re-recordings sound amazing, all are true to the originals, with little twists here and there.

Jeff went into an area that few would be brave enough to travel and came out better for it.

“Mr. Blue Sky: The Very Best Of Electric Light Orchestra” is a useful reminder of what stellar singles ELO released through their career.

Well done.

1. Mr. Blue Sky

2. Evil Woman

3. Strange Magic

4. Don’t Bring Me Down

5. Turn To Stone

6. Showdown

7. Telephone Line

8. Livin’ Thing

9. Do Ya

10. Can’t Get It Out Of My Head

11. 10538 Overture [40th Anniversary version]

12. The Point Of No Return [Previously unreleased]

Jeff Lynne – Vocals, All Instruments


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.