PAUL SABU – In Dreams [remastered] (2012)

PAUL SABU - In Dreams [remastered] (2012) mp3 download


Originally released by Zero Records in Japan in 1994 and subsequently picked up by the fledgling Now & Then records for Europe the following year, “In Dreams” was PAUL SABU first album of the nineties.

After the release of the seminal Only Child album in ’88 it had been a barren few years for Sabu fans and save for a few production credits on albums by the likes of Tattoo Rodeo, Malice and Little Ceasar, he’d pretty much dropped out of the public eye.

When “In Dreams” slipped out in ’94 it was accompanied by very little fanfare, but went on to top the Japanese charts for several weeks. And it was easy to see why.

Produced, engineered and mixed by Sabu at various studios in California, “In Dreams” was stuffed full of potential.

Whether it was the blatant AOR of “Arms Of A Hangman”, the lighter-waving balladry of “Baby Blues” and “This Time” or the throwaway bombast of “At War With The Weights” and “The Babysitters”, there was no denying that this album rightly belongs in the Top five of Sabu’s career. In fact, it’s one of my favorites.

One also can’t go without mentioning the sterling renditions of “Ain’t Gonna Eat My Heart Out Anymore” (Angel cover) and and his blistering version of “If You Can’t Take The Heat” (co-written with Lee Aaron).

“In Dreams” is one of the most unknown albums by Paul Sabu solo, and one of his best.

With a supporting cast that includes the likes of Tommy Amato (Beau Coup), Lance Bullen (Baton Rouge) and Dave ‘The Beast’ Spitz (Great White), this recording is a worthy successor to the brilliance of his past works.

Great playing and rockin’ songs plenty of hooks, with that classic US Melodic Hard Rock sound from the beginning of the nineties.

A Highly Recommended remastering by Z Records.

01 – Baby Blues

02 – Arms Of A Hangman

03 – At War With The Weights

04 – Ain’t Gonna Eat Out My Heart Any More

05 – This Time

06 – The Babysitters

07 – Brothers Forever

08 – Bad Blood

09 – Natural Born Killer

10 – Dream Burnin’ Down

11 – If You Can’t Take The Heat

Paul Sabu – vocals, guitars, keyboards

Lance Bulen – guitars

Dave Spitz, Chris Lester, Murill Maggio – bass

Tommy Amato, Todd Herremann, Eric Wass – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.