CRAZY LIXX – Crazy Lixx [Japanese release] (2014)

CRAZY LIXX - Crazy Lixx [Japanese release] (2014) full


With 2014 reaching its end, it’s time to recap on some of the best releases of the year, and what a better way than with its Japanese releases.
Sweden’s CRAZY LIXX returns with their fourth CD on Frontiers Records (published by King Records in Japan), faithful to their melodic hard rock style reaching back into the depths of the ’80s, tapping that historic vein of sleaze party and hair metal.

While the quartet previous offer received largely ambivalent reviews, this new album finds Crazy Lixx returning to the raucous energy and bombastic sound of earlier recordings. Most every song here is loud, rumbling and razor sharp, especially in the latter half of the album.
From “All Looks, No Hooks” to “Wrecking Ball Crew”, Crazy Lixx blends twin guitar riffage, large vocal arrangements and a thick rhythm section to deliver some edgy, bright hard rock. One of the best songs is “Heroes Are Forever” from their out-of-print album and a staple in their live set.

On the front end, the vibe is similar, but with some songs have a more accessible groove, even some laid back parts. “Sound of the Loud”, “Minority” and “Outlaw” have these melodic hard rock moments were the band backs off on the rowdiness.
“Girls of the ’80s” (I love this one) and especially “I Missed The Mark” are likely the most catchy and party songs, perfect for radio or arena play thanks mostly to the melody and hooks in the refrain. As always, and necessary for the genre, there’s an abundance of sharp guitar solos that only add to the power and presentation of the songs.
The Japanese bonus “Bad Luck” is a highlight, anthemic since its start. They should have included this kick ass melodic rocker into the regular release.

CRAZY LIXX - Crazy Lixx [Japanese release] (2014) back cover

Crazy Lixx have the capability of becoming huge, and this record should help them get to where they deserve.
This self-titled is a solid and entertaining return to form for Crazy Lixx, plenty of energy and really catchy songs. Production is Big and potent, enhancing even more the strong sonic delivery.
Strongly Recommended.

King Records Japan ~ KICP-1713

01. Hell Raising Women
02. Sound Of The Loud Minority
03. Outlaw
04. Girls Of The 80’s
05. I Missed The Mark
06. All Looks, No Hooks
07. Ain’t No Rest In Rock N’ Roll
08. Call To Action
09. Heroes Are Forever
10. Psycho City
11. Wrecking Ball Crew
12. Bad Luck (Japanese Bonus Track)

Danny Rexon – Vocals
Andy Zata – Guitar
Edd Liam – Guitar
Jens Sjoholm – Bass
Joel Cirera – Drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.