QUEEN – On Air (2016)

QUEEN - On Air (2016) full

On Air” is the new two disc from QUEEN featuring the complete BBC Sessions done by Freddie Mercury & Co in their early years.
Queen’s meteoric ascendancy during the Seventies has been well documented. From their gloriously ambitious self-titled debut of 1973 through to the album that put them in the superstar bracket, 1975’s A Night At The Opera, and beyond, this unique group carved out a singular path as the most visionary, inventive and charismatic band of that epic decade.

But there is another side to Queen’s rise that has been largely overlooked.
Between February 1973 and October 1977, the band recorded six radio sessions exclusively for the BBC.
The twenty four recordings these landmark sessions produced include alternate versions of the debut single, unique takes of classic album tracks and even a radically reworked re-imagining of one of their best known anthems that has never previously appeared on any Queen studio release.
Just check the really different version of ‘”We Will Rock You (fast)”:

Now, for the very first time, all six Queen BBC sessions – meticulously restored by Queen engineer Kris Fredriksson and mastered by Grammy Award winner Adam Ayan – have been brought together on “Queen On Air”.
The sound quality is very good, an essential addition for connoisseurs of the band.

1. “My Fairy King” (Session 1: 5th February 1973)
2. “Keep Yourself Alive” (Session 1: 5th February 1973)
3. “Doing All Right” (Session 1: 5th February 1973)
4. “Liar” (Session 1: 5th February 1973)
5. “See What a Fool I’ve Been” (Session 2: 25th July 1973)
6. “Keep Yourself Alive” (Session 2: 25th July 1973)
7. “Liar” (Session 2: 25th July 1973)
8. “Son and Daughter” (Session 2: 25th July 1973)
9. “Ogre Battle” (Session 3: 3rd December 1973)
10. “Modern Times Rock ‘n’ Roll” (Session 3: 3rd December 1973)
11. “Great King Rat” (Session 3: 3rd December 1973)
12. “Son and Daughter” (Session 3: 3rd December 1973)

1. “Modern Times Rock ‘n’ Roll” (Session 4: 3rd April 1974)
2. “Nevermore” (Session 4: 3rd April 1974)
3. “White Queen (As It Began)” (Session 4: 3rd April 1974)
4. “Now I’m Here” (Session 5: 16th October 1974)
5. “Stone Cold Crazy” (Session 5: 16th October 1974)
6. “Flick of the Wrist” (Session 5: 16th October 1974)
7. “Tenement Funster” (Session 5: 16th October 1974)
8. “We Will Rock You” (Session 6: 28th October 1977)
9. “We Will Rock You (fast)” (Session 6: 28th October 1977)
10. “Spread Your Wings” (Session 6: 28th October 1977)
11. “It’s Late” (Session 6: 28th October 1977)
12. “My Melancholy Blues” (Session 6: 28th October 1977)

Freddie Mercury – lead vocals, piano
Brian May – guitar, vocals
Roger Taylor – drums, percussion, vocals
John Deacon – bass guitar


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.