SILENCE LOST – Pay For It (2016)

SILENCE LOST - Pay For It (2016) full

Pay For It” is the full length debut CD by SILENCE LOST, a 5-piece band from Switzerland. This album slipped under our radar last year, but it’s never too late for a good slice of classic (melodic) hard rock.

Silence Lost has been active since 2009, released an EP and after several gigs around central Europe the band played at verious festivals including Open Air sharing stages with the likes of Bonfire, Krokus, Shakra, etc. They even toured USA, as headliners and supporting Lizzy Borden.
Silence Lost’s style is classic hard rock with a generous dosage of melody and groove.

The first comparison which comes to mind after listening the first 2 tracks – ‘Slaves’ and ‘Now’ – is Gotthard, perhaps for the same country of origin, but also for the sharp riffs, pristine vocals and overall polished production.
Then title track ‘Pay for It’ is definitely melodic hard rock oriented, a catchy tune with an infectious chorus akin the awesome American band Stone Soup and their album ‘Spooge’. Killer melodic rocker.

The contagious ‘Bad Deal’ rocks is the same melodious vein, then with ‘Caught’ enters in the balladry territory with a bit of Shakra on it.
‘Show Me The Way’ adds groove not far to some ’90s Thunder works. The vocals take a more punchy approach on ‘How Do You Feel’ displaying an Americanized feel and a great guitar solo.

SILENCE LOST - Pay For It (2016) inside

‘He Died for Nothing’ has a vibe that reminds me of Surgin’s ‘Tokyo Rose’ album. More straight-to-the point is the guitar driven ‘In Remembrance’, while ‘Down at the Ocean’ close the record in a midtempo mode with a slightly bluesy background.

“Pay For It” by Silence Lost is a quite solid and very well crafted debut by this Swiss band which deserve a proper listen.
There’s good, well penned & arranged songs tightly performed, recorded & produced with a polished, clear production. Perhaps a skilled producer would have provided a much more dynamic sound variation, but overall, as it is, the album rocks.
Very Recommended

01 – Slaves
02 – Now
03 – Pay for It
04 – Bad Deal
05 – Caught
06 – Show Me the Way
07 – It’s Time
08 – How Do You Feel
09 – He Died for Nothing
10 – In Remembrance
11 – Down at the Ocean

Mace: Vocals
Michu: Guitar, Background Vocals
Pädu: Guitar, Background Vocals
Dänu: Bass
Mirko: Drums


1 Response

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you!
    Silence Lost

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.