EDEN’s CURSE – Eden’s Curse Revisited (2017)

EDEN's CURSE - Eden’s Curse Revisited (2017) full

To celebrate the tenth Anniversary of their first album, EDEN’S CURSE hatched a plan to re-record the cult classic self-titled debut album in its entirety, re-titled “Eden’s Curse Revisited“.
Eden’s Curse first album really was the foundation for all that was to follow. Ever since singer Nikola Mijic joined the band they have been inundated with requests to re-record some of the older material.

“In actual fact, that is one of the main reasons we recorded the live album Live With The Curse, so the fans could hear Nikola’s voice on the older songs” – says bassist and founder Paul Logue.
“However, it did not stop the flow of requests; in fact it made it worse! So, with this Anniversary coming up, we thought it would be a good idea to re-record our first album it and AFM records agreed. It turned out really well and given the older songs that little bit of freshness.
It’s not to out-do what went before but to pay homage to a very important record in our career”

Darn, and I’m glad they did it.
Honestly, the material from this first album is, in my humble opinion, some of the best the band ever wrote.

Coming on like a cross between classic American bands Queensrÿche and Dokken, married with the European stylings of Pink Cream 69 or latter day Edguy, the songs here are to die for, even perfected with a more polished, modern punchy production.

Seriously, songs like ‘Judgement Day’, ‘Eyes of the World’ or ‘What Are You Waiting For’ or the terrific ‘Fallen King’ sound like the best ’86-90 Queensryche.
Other numbers such as ‘After the Love Is Gone’ and title track ‘Eden’s Curse’ like Dokken, and Stronger Than the Flame’ bring to mind the first Icon (Dan Wexler’s US hard rock band). Oh, and they do a really fine new version of ‘We All Die Young’ (Rock Star movie / Steel Dragon).
Don’t miss this re-recording: KILLS

01 – Book of Life (Intro)
02 – Judgement Day
03 – Eyes of the World
04 – Stronger Than the Flame
05 – The Voice Inside
06 – After the Love Is Gone
07 – Fly Away
08 – What Are You Waiting For
09 – Eden’s Curse
10 – Don’t Bring Me Down
11 – Heaven Touch Me
12 – The Bruce (Intro)
13 – Fallen King
14 – We All Die Young

Nikola Mijic (Vocals)
Thorsten Koehne (Guitars)
Paul Logue (Bass)
Chrism (Keyboards)
John Clelland (Drums)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.