FRANK HANNON (Tesla) – From One Place To Another Vol.2 (2018)

FRANK HANNON (Tesla) - From One Place To Another Vol.2 (2018) full

Tesla’s guitarist FRANK HANNON will release the second installment of his solo cover series, “From One Place To Another Vol. 2” on Friday, May 18. As with Vol. 1, the album features a number of special guests, this time including Roger Fisher of Heart, Graham Whitford (son of Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford), Duane Betts (son of Allman Brother’s Dickey), Randy Hansen and Jared James Nichols.

While Volume 1 was more roots and acoustic focused, “From One Place To Another Vol. 2” is all electric with full backing band, recorded in various locations with a portable recorder and eventually assembled back in Hannon’s home studio.

Indeed, from the start, things are pretty hard rocking here with Deep Purple’s classic ‘Hush’ done in a catchy funky version bringing to mind Richie Kotzen recent solo works.
Seems singing is becoming a lot of fun for Hannon, and he left the smoking guitar duties to some very special guests, here in Randy Hansen, best known for his “Rock Tribute Act” honoring Jimi Hendrix.

For the Aerosmith cover of ‘Lord Of The Thighs’ there’s Graham Whitford (son of Aerosmith’s Brad Whitford) which Hannon met while on tour and asked him if he’d be interested in recording guitars on his Dad’s song and he graciously obliged.
We find a nice bluesy take on Rolling Stones ‘You Can’t Always Get What You Want’ (featuring Duane Betts), a soulful ‘Tell Me Somethin’ Good’ (Chaka Khan), and things go acoustic for Johnny Nash’s ‘I Can See Clearly Now’.

FRANK HANNON (Tesla) - From One Place To Another Vol.2 (2018) inside

The biggest surprise of the album is Frank’s take on Seal’s ‘Kiss From A Rose’, where Hannon demostrates how much has progressed as vocalist. Haunting cover.
Back to rock n’ roll ‘Sing Child’ featuring Roger Fisher of Heart is really hot, same with Jimi Hendrix’s immortal ‘Spanish Castle Magic’, again featuring Randy Hansen.

For the end, we have a groovy cover of Black Sabbath’s ‘Sweet Leaf’, where Hannon duets on a guitar duel with talented Jared James Nichols.
“From One Place To Another Vol. 2” is another really fun and enjoyable album from Hannon’s cover series, and I like it even better than the previous because it’s almost full on electrics.
Timeless classic rock.

1 – Hush (featuring Randy Hansen)
2 – Lord of the Thighs (featuring Graham Whitford)
3 – You Can’t Always Get What You Want (featuring Duane Betts)
4 – Tell Me Somethin’ Good
5 – Kiss From A Rose
6 – Sing Child Sing (featuring Roger Fisher)
7 – I Can See Clearly Now
8 – Spanish Castle Magic (featuring Randy Hansen)
9 – I Can Help
10 – Sweet Leaf (featuring Jared James Nichols)

Frank Hannon – vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, programming, banjo, percussion
Roger Fisher
Graham Whitford
Duane Betts
Randy Hansen
Jared James Nichols


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.