BEAST IN BLACK – From Hell With Love [digipak +2] (2019)

BEAST IN BLACK - From Hell With Love [digipak +2] (2019) full

Formed in 2015 when guitarist and songwriter Anton Kabanen left his previous band Battle Beast, BEAST IN BLACK released their debut album ‘Berserker’ in 2017 and now they are set to unleash album number two “From Hell With Love” on the melodic metal loving public.

Vocalist Yannis Papadopoulos has the perfect vocal range for this style of high tempo commercial power metal, his pipes soaring above the guitars and keys. Anton Kabanen’s impressive lead guitar solos are dotted throughout the songs, with Kasperi Heikkinen keeping the riffs going with his rhythm guitar playing.

It is a strange mix, as you have the classic metal approved hail and kill lyrics on ‘This Is War’ – a massively catchy power metal tune – which is on the same album as an ’80s influenced power ballad ‘Oceandeep’. A song that starts off with a nice bit of flute.

Beast In Black like their ’80s synths / keys and even the odd disco beat – ‘Die By The Blade’ gives the Night Flight Orchestra a run for their money and despite the title is a beat filled melodic rocker.
The title track also taps into a synth drenched poppy stomp, with another chorus that you will be humming for days after first hearing it.

BEAST IN BLACK - From Hell With Love [digipak +2] inside

Which I don’t get here is the cover artwork… that kind on 1982 ‘metal horror’ doesn’t reflect the music inside. This is very, very commercial and catchy stuff. A proof is this digipak bonus track, a cover of Robert Tepper’s ‘No Easy Way Out’, from the Rocky IV movie.
Parp up those keyboards, strap on the air guitar and away we go with a retro sounding power metal trip that puts the fun back into music.
Highly Recommended

01 – Cry out for a Hero
02 – From Hell with Love
03 – Sweet True Lies
04 – Repentless
05 – Die by the Blade
06 – Oceandeep
07 – Unlimited Sin
08 – True Believer
09 – This Is War
10 – Heart of Steel
11 – No Surrender
12 – Killed by Death (Motörhead cover)
13 – No Easy Way Out (Robert Tepper cover)

Yannis Papadopoulos – Lead Vocals
Kasperi Heikkinen – Guitars (ex-U.D.O., ex-Gamma Ray)
Anton Kabanen – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Máté Molnár – Bass (Wisdom)
Atte Palokangas – Drums (Thunderstone)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.