SEVEN HARD YEARS (7HY) – No Going Back (2019)

SEVEN HARD YEARS (7HY) - No Going Back (2019) full

Melodic rockers SEVEN HARD YEARS (a.k.a. 7HY) are back with a new album, their fourth overall, titled “No Going Back”. This time around, 7HY kept their core lineup of founder Alan Kelly (ex- Shy), vocalist Shawn Pelata (Final Sign), guitarist Danny Beardsley (The Parallax Method) and multi-instrumentalist and producer Andrew Chick (Edge Of The Blade).

The previous three Seven Hard Years albums have been solid enough, but the band seems to really gel here. That may be due to Pelata’s increased involvement in the songwriting process, or it may just reflect an increased comfort and chemistry among the band members.
Either way, the results are a more effective, more enjoyable 7HY album.

“No Going Back” is firmly rooted in the classic melodic rock sound, so expect plenty of great melodies, catchy choruses and feel-good vibe. The album starts on a very strong note with “Stay Gone,” which has a great vocal intro and electrifying guitar melodies.
Title track has some FM / Overland on it, “Deep Dark Blue” and “Every Moment” takes some cues from the classic Journey / Foreigner sound, and “Can’t Trust the Radio” really sinks into your subconscious.

It’s good to see an already solid band take things to the next level, and that’s what Seven Hard Years has done here. “No Going Back” is their most solid and complete album to date, that fans of Foreigner, FM, late Shy, Snakecharmer, Farcry and melodic rock in general ought to enjoy.
Highly Recommended

01 – Stay Gone
02 – Deep Dark Blue
03 – No Going Back
04 – Every Moment
05 – Still Falling
06 – Your Reality
07 – Can’t Trust The Radio
08 – I Love You
09 – Can We Try

Alan Kelly: guitar, bass, drums, keyboards, backing vocals
Shawn Pelata: vocals
Andrew Chick: bass, guitar, keyboards
Danny Beardsley: guitar

Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.