ALCHEMY – Dyadic (2019)

ALCHEMY - Dyadic (2019) full

“Dyadic” is the upcoming, second official studio album from Italian melodic hard rockers ALCHEMY, produced by Pierpaolo “Zorro” Monti (Lionville, Shining Line) and mixed by renowned sound engineer Roberto Priori (Danger Zone, Raintimes, Wheels Of Fire).
Davide “Dave Rox” Barbieri (Raintimes, Room Experience) also helped with the vocal production and provided backing vocals, and Stefano Zeni (Room Experience) helped with the guitar layers. Last but not least, James & Tom Martin and Nick Workman (Vega) penned together the track “Hero”.
Impressive team, and after the first listen, we can say the results are very, very good.

With the previous album, Alchemy strive mostly for melodic hard rock with an edge. Now the band has refined their sound to straight AOR / melodic hard rock, yet with some progressive textures and some edge remains with sharp guitar riffs and a big beat.

Opening up with some pompous parping from keyboarder Andrew Trabelsi, ‘Cursed’ leaves the listener in no doubt as to what sort of trip awaits the ears over the next eleven tracks; pomped-up AOR mayhem with a punch.
This is truly classic ‘heavy’ AOR; impassioned vocals lead the show courtesy of the strong Marcello Spera, but everyone contributes here, even bassist Matteo Castelli gets a look in thanks to the generous mix affording everyone space to shine. His roving four-string work is another highlight throughout.

But of course Melodic Hard / AOR is nothing without a swoonsomely insane level of keyboard / guitar interplay, and Trabelsi and six-stringer Cristiano Stefera deliver in spades time and again. Stefera contributes at least one spine-tingling solo per song, every one beautifully constructed and tailored to fit it’s surroundings perfectly.
‘One Step Away’ is even better than the opening track, being heavily reminiscent of criminally underrated Americans Prophet, whilst the balladic ‘Goodbye’ is a little more obvious but just as goosebump-inducing.

These boys have a knack for a classic radio-rock chorus, and really every song could be a single if such things still existed. ‘Endless Quest ‘shoehorns some classic ‘woah-ohs’ in for good measure as if the whole thing wasn’t memorable enough.
Then, you’ll find some mighty melodious rockers with ‘Nuketown’, ‘Day By Day’, and ‘Take Another Shot’.

With a healthy pace and solid groove, Alchemy develops the catchy Vega bros penned ‘Hero’ in an AOR wrapper for a huge arena-ready anthem. Another solid ballad arrive with ‘What It Takes’ featuring some skillful piano lines and epic soaring solos.

“Dyadic” showcases a remarkable step ahead in Alchemy’s artistic career, more melodic and elaborated than its predecessor. In fact, this is a Melodic Hard Rock / AOR blast.
Honestly, I don’t remember hearing an album from an ‘unknown’ band that sounds quite so much like the real deal… mature and creative. While Alchemy still isn’t a big name for the genre, this is about to change.
If you love the heavier side of AOR, your punchy melodic hard rock delivered with passion and verve then, ladies and gentlemen, don’t miss “Dyadic”.
HIGHLY Recommended

01 – Cursed
02 – One Step Away
03 – Endless Quest
04 – What It Takes
05 – Nuketown
06 – Day by Day
07 – Hero
08 – Lost in the Dark
09 – Goodbye
10 – Take Another Shot
11 – Prisoner
12 – Goodbye (Acoustic Version) [Bonus Track]

Marcello Spera: Vocals
Cristiano Stefana: Guitars
Andrew Trabelsi: Keyboards
Matteo Castelli: Bass
Matteo Severini: Drums & Percussion

Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.