BULLETBOYS – Bulletboys [Rock Candy remastered & reloaded]

BULLETBOYS - ST [Rock Candy remaster] (2014) front

One of the most fun, cool acts emerged from the Californian scene during the second half of the ’80s was without a doubt BULLETBOYS and their self-titled debut album, freshly remastered by Rock Candy Records.

There is no getting away from it, Los Angeles in the late Eighties was ground zero for hard rock and hair metal. The Sunset Strip was home to literally hundreds of up and coming acts, all desperate to place their stake in the ground and climb the ladder to a bigger and better future.
One such act was the BulletBoys, a lean and mean rocking machine who’s melodic yet raw sensibilities set them apart from the competition by a country mile. However, although the band’s upward trajectory was a veritable rocket powered climb, it hadn’t always been that way for the individual members.
Guitarist Mick Sweda had been in lauded but poorly performing rockers King Kobra and towards the end that band’s existence it also featured bassist Lonnie Vencent and vocalist Marq Torien.

It was these three renegades that jumped ship to form the BulletBoys. With shrewd management and a desire to impress, the band stayed away from the LA clubs and concentrated on rehearsing and writing songs, a plan that paid handsome dividends when Warner Brothers records, and, in particular, their head of A&R legendary producer Ted Templeman (Van Halen, Montrose), jumped at the chance to sign them.
With Ted in the production seat, their self-titled debut album quickly attained gold certification harboured a string of energy infused tracks that still sound great today.

BULLETBOYS - ST [Rock Candy remaster] (2014) back

“Hard As A Rock”, “F#9” and of course “Smooth Up In Ya” are my all-time favorites, but this album Rocks from start to finish, no weak song in sight.
This Rock Candy remaster is bright and clear, and a Highly Recommended addition to your collection.

01 – Hard As A Rock
02 – Smooth Up In Ya
03 – Owed To Joe
04 – Shoot The Preacher Down
05 – For The Love Of Money
06 – Kissin’ Kitty
07 – Hell On My Heels
08 – Crank Me Up
09 – Badlands
10 – F#9

Marq Torien – vocals
Mick Sweda – guitar, backing vocals
Lonnie Vencent – bass, backing vocals
Jimmy D’Anda – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.