JANET GARDNER (Vixen) – Your Place In The Sun (2019)

JANET GARDNER (Vixen) - Your Place In The Sun (2019) full

Best known as the lead vocalist of the all female melodic hard rock band Vixen, JANET GARDNER’s powerful vocals propelled Vixen to the top of the Billboard charts with crossover hits Edge of a Broken Heart and Cryin’, and found the band opening for the likes of Deep Purple, Ozzy Osbourne, The Scorpions, Kiss, and Bon Jovi.
Teaming up with guitarist / songwriter / producer Justin James (having worked with Collective Soul, Tyketto), Gardner releases her second solo album “Your Place In The Sun” tomorrow.

Together, Janet and Justin have penned a collection of emotionally charged songs with gritty grooves, infectious hooks, and inspired lyrics that merge hard rock influences from the last four decades.
While Janet’s first solo album appeared last year was highly praised by us, let me tell you right now that “Your Place In The Sun” is even better.

Still with the same glossy, multi-layered sound production like on the first solo album, “Your Place In The Sun” is much more elaborated, and in a good way. This is is stylish classic hard rock with many moods, arrangements and even time signature changes.
The beauty of all of this is that the songs flow so smoothly that you’ll barely notice, but you’re regarded with a more complete, juicy listen.

Janet’s vocals are in top form, and are expanded to the sky by the huge, clever production. Also the guitar work is tremendous, there’s lots of different amp / effects set up, each song is different, and exciting.
I just love the title track Randy Rhoads-like meaty riffs, and the addictive rhythm of ‘Standing’ with whammy bar job similar to Jake E Lee at his best, guaranteed to keep Janet’s 80’s fans happy.
‘Assassinate’ is more poppy, in fact, more Vixen like, with just another hooky chorus. And if you need a ballad, a well crafted ballad, then not miss ‘Try’, including acoustic guitars into the mix alongside Janet’s raspy vocals.

All songs in “Your Place In The Sun” delivers a different flavor, all in the classic way, and all juicy, claiming for a ‘repeat’ button.
This current decade Janet Gardner reinvented herself, and damn, she’s at her peak. You’ll return to this CD over and over again, believe me.
For me, one of the best albums of the year so far.
Highly Recommended

01 – Your Place in the Sun
02 – Assassinate
03 – Standing
04 – Try
05 – Web
06 – Kicks Me Back
07 – A Way to Your Heart
08 – Should Have Known
09 – Unconditionally
10 – You Said
11 – Without You
12 – Flame Thrower

Janet Gardner – vocals, guitar
Justin James – guitar, keyboards
Anthony Gemignani – bass
Richie Rivera – drums

Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.