EDDIE MONEY – Take Me Home Tonight : The Best Of [Re-recorded]

EDDIE MONEY - Take Me Home Tonight : The Best Of [Re-recorded] full

EDDIE MONEY, the prolific singer and songwriter whose songs “Baby Hold On,” “Two Tickets to Paradise,” and “Take Me Home Tonight” soundtracked popular music in the ’80s, sadly died last Friday, Sept. 13. He was working on a new album titled ‘Brand New Day’, apparently finished and even listed at Amazon, now retired.
This is the best way to remember Eddie, via his best songs included into “Take Me Home Tonight : The Best Of”, re-recorded versions of his biggest hits. While usually the original versions are better, we must assume you already have these, and let me tell you, all the re-recorded songs (done by Eddie between 2010-11) are great, some with slightly new arrangements updated to current times.

Money made his home in the Bay Area in the Seventies where he performed at the city’s clubs regularly. A star of MTV’s formative years, he saw major chart success with such songs as “Baby Hold On” and “Two Tickets to Paradise” and, in 1986, “Take Me Home Tonight,” a duet with Ronnie Spector, his biggest radio hit.
He was signed to Columbia Records and released 11 albums throughout his career, starting with his self-titled debut in 1977 which saw three songs chart, “Baby Hold On,” “Two Tickets to Paradise” and “You’ve Really Got a Hold on Me.”

Money’s arsenal of hits also includes 1979’s “Maybe I’m a Fool” (No. 22), “Think I’m in Love” (No. 16) and “Shakin’” (No. 63) in 1982, “Take Me Home Tonight” in 1986 which reached No. 4 (his highest charting song) and “Walk on Water” (No. 9) in 1988.

The new versions are faithful to the original, however some add that 2000’s-style melodic rock sheen in terms of sound production.
I love the original versions, but the newly recorded takes got its charm as well. This release showcases how these hits ‘sounded’ into Eddie’s heart nowadays, more rocking and punchy.
His music somehow feels as fresh and as ubiquitous today as it would have been in 1982. Eddie Money’s music gave shape to grand part of our ’80s soundtrack / life.
We salute you.


01 – Take Me Home Tonight (Re-Recorded)
02 – Baby Hold On (Re-Recorded)
03 – Two Tickets to Paradise (Re-Recorded)
04 – Shakin’ (Re-Recorded)
05 – Think I’m in Love (Re-Recorded)
06 – I Wanna Go Back (Re-Recorded)
07 – Walk On Water (Re-Recorded)
08 – Peace in Our Time (Re-Recorded)
09 – Maybe I’m a Fool (Re-Recorded)
10 – Life for the Taking (Re-Recorded)
11 – I’ll Get By (Re-Recorded)
12 – Endless Nights (Re-Recorded)
13 – Baby Hold On (Acoustic Version)
14 – Two Tickets to Paradise (Acoustic Version)
15 – Gimme Some Water (Acoustic Version)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.