SHY – Brave The Storm [Rock Candy remaster +6] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE*

SHY - Brave The Storm [Rock Candy remaster +6] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE* full

A much needed remaster of SHY‘s “Brave The Storm” just has been released by Rock Candy specialists including 6 bonus tracks, the British act major label debut which, without a doubt, should have been a real breakout LP for the band.

SHY was a latecomer to the NWOBHM scene, and like many groups like Tobruk and Heavy Pettin’, they straddled the line between metal and arena rock. Featuring powerhouse vocalist Tony Mills, for this “Brave The Storm” released in 1985 they hitched themselves to the American AOR bandwagon, produced by Tony Platt (Cheap Trick, Foreigner).

Leadoff single “Hold On (To Your Love)” certainly had the right sound for mainstream rock radio in 1985, but it never managed to chart. Honestly, there aren’t songs on this album that wouldn’t have made good singles.
“Keep The Fires Burning” and “Caught In The Act” had that ’80s action movie soundtrack rock sound down perfectly, and the title track remains one of the all-time best Shy songs.

The aggressively infectious “My Apollo” and “The Hunter” reveal themselves to be sturdily structured melodic rock songs, with an ear for a memorable hook. Gary Moore, Bon Jovi and Meatloaf all heard something – the band were invited onto their respective UK tours.

SHY - Brave The Storm [Rock Candy remaster +6] (2019) back

The whole album is a textbook example of well-crafted melodic rock / AOR with a metal edge.
Catchy hooks and abundant keyboards are paired with somewhat dramatic, love-themed lyrics and of course Mills’ stratospheric vocals.
It’s just such a pure ‘80s album, and one that immediately transports you back to that era.
HIGHLY Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Hold On (To Your Love)
02 – My Apollo
03 – Reflections
04 – Keep The Fires Burning
05 – The Hunter
06 – Brave The Storm
08 – Caught In The Act
09 – Was I Wrong?
10 – Hold On (To Your Love)
11 – Strangers In Town
12 – Deep Water (“Once Bitten” Mix)
13 – Give Me A Chance (“Twice Shy” Mix)
14 – Two Hearts (Live)
15 – Behind Closed Doors (Live)

Tony Mills – vocals
Steve Harris – guitars
Paddy Makenna – keyboards
Roy Stephen Davis – bass
Alan Kelly – drums


You may also like...

8 Responses

  1. 0dayrox says:

    if password needed (copy/paste):


  2. Anonymous says:

    RIP Tony Mills

  3. Anonymous says:

    Very sad about Tony Mills his blog was also very touching…

  4. Tor says:

    Thanks for this remastered masterpiece! So sad to hear of Mills’ passing … Wasn’t there a password for this archive? I must have missed it. Any chance of a repost of said password? Regards.

  5. Tor Sæther says:

    Thanks for this remastered masterpiece! So sad to hear of Mills’ passing …

  6. Tommy D says:

    Amazing singer, he will be lost.
    Thank’s for the upload, any chance to get the “Excess All Areas” Rock Candy remaster here?

  7. zmjazzrock says:

    Thank you so much. Never heard this band before. I liked.
    Regards from Brazil

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.