ANGELES – Fire It Up (2019)

ANGELES - Fire It Up (2019) full

“Fire It Up” is the just released new album by American classic hard rockers ANGELES, one of the most long-lasting indie US rock bands out there. These guys first started playing Hollywood, CA in the early ’80s and shared the stage with legends such as Motley Crue, Quiet Riot, Gun’s N’ Roses, Ratt, Ronnie James Dio, Bon Jovi, Michael Schenker, Dokken, just to name few.
Most of these acts are gone, but Angeles – with some line-up changes, yes – are still there, with a long tour date schedule until the end of the year.

Angeles received their first Platinum record award in 2014 for their debut “We’re No Angels” (originally released in 1984) that has been played on nationwide radio stations, and play an Annual benefit show Thunder on the lot for children’s charity. In 2016 Angeles released their “Crazy” CD featuring their single “God Country and King”, with its video hitting over 1 million views on Vevo.
As you see, Angeles is an independent band, but with a strong cult following since 30+ years.

As happened with the band’s previous album, listening to “Fire It Up” it’s like living between 1984 – 1988 again. The band still play the Californian club circuit, even they are The Whiskey A Go Go regulars. Angeles perform from the heart and refuse to give up their love of this type of music.
This is melodic traditional hard rock with a definite US flavor, from the ’80s, of course.3

Since opener ‘Fire It Up, a mix of Y&T with Quiet Riot, the driving guitars and vocal style takes you back to the glory days of the genre. And these two mentioned bands are a pretty accurate to describe Angeles’ sound. There’s a touch of Dokken on a couple of tracks and other bands of this ilk.
Sure, production standard is not at the same level of these legends, not the songwriting, but Angeles does avery good job keeping the true hard rock flame alive in LA / America.
An entertaining and rockin’ album all over.


01. Fire It Up
02. Give It to Me
03. Good Times Don’t Stop
04. Freight Train
05. Anti Social Media
06. Gone Too Soon
07. Eye of the Storm
08. Magic
09. Wicked
10. Freedom
11. Little Bit Faster

Gwendolyn Casella – Vocals
Dale Lytle – Guitars
Danny Basulto – Drums
Mark Ludmer – Bass



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.