TRAPEZE – Lost Tapes, Vol. 1 (2023)

TRAPEZE - Lost Tapes, Vol. 1 (2023) - full

When classic rock band TRAPEZE called it a day, they left behind them a series of now-classic albums. Their influence on other groups has been immense, individual members themselves going on to join heavyweight rock acts such as DEEP PURPLE, WHITESNAKE, JUDAS PRIEST and URIAH HEEP.
But their story’s not over, as “Lost Tapes Vol. 1” will soon reveal.
These are tracks recorded on tour and either side of album releases, great songs that were stockpiled just never released as the various lineups hit the ground running, playing live relentlessly, honing their craft while rarely seeing home.
However, guitarist Mel Galley did take those tapes to his elder brother Tom’s house. There, they — as co-writers of many of the band’s best-known songs — would review them, making various decisions that felt right at the time. Mel also had the foresight, to leave them with Tom for safekeeping, so they didn’t get lost.
“Lost Tapes Vol. 1” is an opportunity to hear TRAPEZE with all the primal energy of young men stretching out; demonstrating there was even more untapped potential between the musicians involved than had hitherto been imagined.

Smashing the doors open across America by pioneering a heavy funk rock sound that would later be taken up by the RED HOT CHILLI PEPPERS, EXTREME and others, back in the 1970s Glenn Hughes (vocals, bass), Mel Galley (guitar, vocals) and Dave Holland (drums) barely had time to catch their breath while stepping into studios to lay down several unique songs that you’ll find on this collection, as well as tracks later recorded at Garage Studios in the U.K. during their 1990s reformation.

Strident hard rocker “Breakdown” comes from that latter period, the song sounding immensely fresh and contemporary even today. From the same period, with “Don’t Let Them Push You” it’s a case of “more cowbell!” and Mel’s guitar weaving tirelessly with him also taking lead vocals.

“‘Destiny’ and ‘Lights Of Tokyo’ were songs that were overlooked and never ended up on an album. Important pathfinders on the band’s journey, they pre-empt the heavier rock and progressive sounds that the band would find acclaim with, beginning with 1970’s “Medusa” album.

These tracks embrace both powder-kegged bravado performances as well as the band’s more nuanced emotional side, with nothing off limits as the musicians involved can be heard exploring their potential both collectively and as individuals.
Powerful with deft time changes, tinged with subtly or bleeding out ferociously; belting rockers find them surging forward as one only for a propulsive rhythmic heartbeat to take hold over which solos soar.
Highly recommended stuff


01 – Cool Water
02 – Lover
03 – Breakdown
04 – Don’t Let Them Push You
05 – Destiny
06 – Lights Of Tokyo
07 – So In Love
08 – Bad Kid From School
09 – Catching Up On You
10 – Do You Understand
11 – Enough Is Enough
12 – You’ve Got It
13 – Who Do You Run To
14 – Going Home

Glenn Hughes (vocals, bass)
Mel Galley (guitar, vocals)
Dave Holland (drums)


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.