LOUDNESS – Soldier Of Fortune [30th Anniversary Japan-only Ltd. Edition 3xCD remastered] (2020) *EXCLUSIVE*

LOUDNESS - Soldier Of Fortune [30th Anniversary Japan-only Ltd. Edition 3xCD remastered] (2020) full

Celebrating its 30th Anniversary, LOUDNESS‘ “Soldier Of Fortune” was released in Japan in a 3-CD remastered version a couple months ago. A ”Soldier Of Fortune [30th Anniversary]” Limited Edition which is already sold out.
Featuring the impressive Mike Vescera on lead vocals, “Soldier Of Fortune” is one of the best hard rock albums appeared in 1989-1990, criminally underrated but a true blast from start to finish.
This expanded version includes a marvelous remastering job, an extra disc of rough-mix recordings from the “Soldier” sessions, and other CD with previously unreleased demos / songs.
The remaster is fantastic, believe me, and you have the extras to enjoy.

As you may know, Loudness is a Japanese hard rock band at times bordering metal, lead by terrific guitarist Akira Takasaki, often compared in style with Eddie Van Halen.
“Soldier Of Fortune” was Loudness’ and their recording label move to launch the band in America, and for that matter they recruited awesome American vocalist Mike Vescera.
Also, skilled producer Max Norman provided a glossy, truly slick ‘American sound’ to the recording, that alongside the more ‘catchy’ songwriting and melodic approach, resulted in a terrific Melodic Hard Rock album.

To appeal US listeners Loudness needed an American born singer, and a powerful one. Mike Vescera gives the performance of his life on “Soldier Of Fortune”. Every song he sings, from the title track all the way to closer “Demon Disease”, is filled with power and emotion.
Akira Takasaki’s guitar work is godly. No, beyond godly, it’s simply awe inspiring. Akira is known around the world as one of the greatest guitarists to ever come out of the East, and he surely proves it on this album. Every song’s lead is amazing, every riff and melody is played with technique and taste in mind, it’s just something you have to hear to believe.
And the songs… mixing kick-ass hard rockers with terrific midtempos in the vein of Dokken, Icon, McAuley Schenker Group, etc, the album rocks with melody all over.

Loudness’ “Soldier Of Fortune” is one of the most unknown US-style hard rock records released at the end of the ’80s, and one of the best. Despite the good critical reception and the strong support given by the label, the album failed to chart in the USA eclipsed by the major local acts in the genre.
Seriously, Loudness’ “Soldier Of Fortune” is a monster album. This Japanese fresh remaster sounds fabulous, you gotta listen how crisp and punchy it comes out of the speakers.
For us, a must have into any serious Hard Rock collection.


Disc 1 – Soldier Of Fortune remastered 2020
01. Soldier Of Fortune
02. You Shook Me
03. Danger Of Love
04. Twenty-Five Days From Home
05. Red Light Shooter
06. Running For Cover
07. Lost Without Your Love
08. Faces In The Fire
09. Long After Midnight
10. Demon Disease

Remastered by Chris Bellman at Burnie Grundman, Los Angeles


Disc 2 – Rough / Different mixes
01. Soldier Of Fortune (Rough Mix)
02. You Shook Me (Rough Mix)
03. Danger Of Love (Rough Mix)
04. Twenty-Five Days From Home (Rough Mix)
05. Red Light Shooter (Rough Mix)
06. Running For Cover (Rough Mix)
07. Lost Without Your Love (Rough Mix)
08. Faces In The Fire (Rough Mix)
09. Long After Midnight (Rough Mix)
10. Demon Disease (Rough Mix)
11. Soldier Of Fortune (Karaoke)
12. You Shook Me (Karaoke)
13. Running For Cover (Karaoke)
14. Lost Without Your Love (Karaoke)
15. Long After Midnight (Karaoke)

Mastered by Ryuichi Tanaka at Warner Music Mastering, Tokyo


Disc 3 – Unreleased Demos
01. Faces In The Fire (Unreleased Demo)
02. Lost Without Your Love (Unreleased Demo)
03. Love Toys (Unreleased Demo)
04. Un-Released 3 (Unreleased Demo)
05. Twenty-Five Days From Home (Unreleased Demo)
06. Soldier Of Fortune (Unreleased Demo)
07. Un-Released 4 (Unreleased Demo)
08. Red Light Shooter (Unreleased Demo)
09. Un-Released 3-Pre Production (Drums By Ampan) (Unreleased Demo)
10. Un-Released 4-Pre Production (Drums by Dragon) (Unreleased Demo)

Mastered by Ryuichi Tanaka at Warner Music Mastering, Tokyo


Mike Vescera – vocals
Akira Takasaki – guitar
Masayoshi Yamashita – bass
Munetaka Higuchi – drums


Out Of Print

You may also like...

7 Responses

  1. AOR Fan says:

    Hi, following the great Vinyl Rips of Delta & Drama do you have a better version of the Blue Yonder (1987) album featuring Sandy Stewart (Her Cat Dancer (1984) Album is Great also) as the one I have has many crackles/jumps.

  2. Joe says:

    This upload is missing Disc 3. I checked to make sure. When I tried downloading the second half, only Disc 2 was in the download.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thank you so very much for this. As a long time LOUDNESS fan I really appreciate this one! It’s a great and underrated album indeed.

    One thing though…disc 3 is missing! Can you please upload that one too?


  4. 0dayrox says:

    Disc 3 added.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for uploading disc 3. I’m listening to these instrumental demo’s right now and they’re amazing. They once more show what a great player Akira Takasaki is.

    There are only two players who can pull this off…he and Michael Schenker! Yet everybody knows Schenker, but only so many know Akira!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.