SOJOURN – Different Points Of View [30th Anniversary digipak remastered +7]

SOJOURN - Different Points Of View [30th Anniversary digipak remastered +7] full

As requested, here’s the 30th Anniversary remastered reissue of American AOR / Pomp / Melodic  rockers SOJOURN second album, 1987-1989 “Different Points Of View“, including 7 bonus tracks.
After their successful debut album, the band set about recording this follow up in 1987, with major label MCA ready to offer a contract. Unfortunately there were some tech problems during the sessions and the album was held up a couple of years. Ultimately, “Different Points Of View” was released in 1989, by which point they decided to pack it in.
Musically, “Different Points Of View” is much more melodic rock oriented than the debut, with that polished sound of American bands of this ilk circa 1987-88.

Having released their debut, ‘Lookin’ For More’, in 1985, first on cassette and later on vinyl LP, the future looked bright for Sojourn, although, as history shows, rock ‘n’ roll can be fickle and ultimately a game of luck.
A coveted 1986 support slot for Mr. Mister materialized, but RCA pulled the plug on future dates, wanting Richard Page and company back in the studio to capitalize on the runaway success of ‘Welcome to the Real World’.
A minor setback, but Sojourn knuckled down with steady club work and smaller venues while receiving airplay locally on Salt Lake City’s KBER and nationally in all major markets, including WBCN in Boston and the legendary WMMR in Philadelphia.

Import copies of the album eventually made their way across the Atlantic and the European rock press jumped on board with enthusiastic reviews. All major labels began to court Sojourn on a deal, including Atlantic Records, MCA, Columbia, and Capitol, but Sojourn decided to stay independent with Important Records.
It’s against this backdrop that ”Different Points of View” began to materialize.

In March 1987 Sojourn began recording at Sound Design Studios in sunny Santa Barbara, California, with their strongest set of songs to date. Packing a melodic punch with “Real Time” and the gritty grind of the title track to the mid-tempo rocker “In the City” and keyboard-laced “Neon Lights,” Sojourn’s brand of hard-edged pomp rock had matured beyond early comparisons to STYX or 80s KANSAS.
Unfortunately, tensions were high and disagreements concerning the final mix were starting to take their toll, although MCA Records were very persistent in pursuing Sojourn for a deal. The corporate giant requested two songs, and the band set up shop at Jim Messina’s Gateway Studios in Carpinteria, California, with basic tracks from the Audio Visions sessions.
These two tracks are including here among the bonuses.

Surrounding the shifting personnel chemistry was Gateway’s party atmosphere and revolving door of well-known stars who would come into the studio and hang out, making the sessions that much more colorful.
The songs “Back to Work” (now retitled “Janine,” with new lyrics and melody) and an alternate version of “Tell Me What Angels Do” were recorded and in the can, but in an unforeseen twist of fate an internal shake-up at MCA left Sojourn fractured and without a deal.

Meanwhile in the UK, the band appeared on the now-legendary international compilation ‘Hot Night in the City’, released on the FM/Revolver label, although at this point Sojourn called it a day without officially ever releasing the record. There was some few copies distributed in 1989, but the album had to wait several years to appear in this remastered form.
A very good piece of ‘lost’ second half of the Eighties American Melodic Rock.
Highly Recommended


01 – Real Time
02 – Straight On
03 – Different Points of View
04 – In the City
05 – Back to Work
06 – Lead Me On
07 – Bandit of Love
08 – Neon Lights
09 – Long Way Home
10 – Chapter 3
11 – Won’t Cry for You
12 – Tell Me What Angels Do (MCA Records Sessions)
13 – Janine (MCA Records Sessions)
14 – In the City (Hot Night in the City Compilation Version)
15 – Long Time (Demo)
16 – Chapter 7 (Demo)
17 – Big Blue (Demo)
18 – Moon Rise (Demo)

Vocals, Keyboards – Kevin Bullock
Guitar – Doug Robinson
Bass – Dane Spencer
Drums – Doug Pectol
Keyboards, Synths – Kevin Stoker



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.