HEAVEN BELOW – Rest In Pieces: A Tribute To The Departed [Double CD version] (2020) + extra *EXCLUSIVE*

HEAVEN BELOW - Rest In Pieces: A Tribute To The Departed [Double CD version] (2020) + extra full

A covers album are a most tricky beast and whilst intentions are always good, the results are often a very mixed bag. Do you go for a straight copy of the originals or put your own individual spin? Both paths are fraught with dangers: the former potentially redundant and the latter possibly taking away all you held dear of the source recordings.
Fortunately, L.A. hard rock four-piece HEAVEN BELOW have managed to weave through this virtual minefield and the results mark their album “Rest In Pieces: A Tribute To The Departed” well worth investing your time and money in.
The album pays tribute to several artists that have left the music world too soon, ranging from DIO, LED ZEPPELIN, MOTORHEAD to QUEEN and INXS.
This deluxe 2-CD version (songs on disc 2 available on physical copies only) includes a bonus disc with covers of DREAM THEATER, RUSH, METALLICA, MOTLEY CRUE and more. As extra, not included into the CD’s, we have the recently released HEAVEN BELOW cover of IRON MAIDEN’s ‘Powerslave’.

With an eclectic mix of artists, these twelve tracks, twenty-three if you treat yourself to this double disc version, cover the bases from all out Metal, Hard Rock, Classic Rock and through to Country, all done with an obvious tender-hearted passion.
The central concept of putting together a selection of songs linked by having one or two members having passed away is a somewhat macabre one and whilst the cover art is somewhat questionable, the music itself is excellent.

Queen’s anthemic ‘We Will Rock You’ is a great opener and a real statement of intent, a full-on rocking monster that growls and roars in all the right places – so much so that you feel sure that the band’s hard rocker Brian May would most definitely approve.
The band take a spirited swing at ‘Touch too Much’, not though messing too much AC/DC’s winning formula and Pantera’s ‘Revolution is My Name’ captures the manic aggression and prowling menace of the original. Female guitarist Nikki Stringfield (also member of Femme Fatale and The Iron Maidens) delivers a great swirling solo.

There’s a definite change of pace next with ‘Down in a Hole’, one of the tracks where they have taken a slightly different approach and this version of the Alice In Chains known song is possibly even better than the original musically speaking. A wonderful blend of piano and the vocals from Patrick Kennison and Nikki adds to the layers of this lush and gentle cover that’s less spacey than the original, making it an album highlight.

‘Motor Medley’ is back to basics again as bass player John Younger takes over the vocal duties on this run through of ‘Overkill’, ‘Iron Fist’ and ‘Ace of Spades’, grabbing the fire of Lemmy’s crew with a roughshod intensity that is counterpointed by more finesse in the guitar work than existed in the seminal tracks.
Johnny Cash’s ‘Ain’t No Grave’ is turned into a huge, Southern Rock bruiser powered by Shad Wilhelm’s drums, coming on as if done by Black Label Society, and ‘Like a Stone’ is a soulful and gritty, semi-AOR version of the Audioslave favourite.

Attempting any song by Ronnie James Dio is going to be monumental task for anyone, his voice legendary and absolutely peerless, so ‘Hungry for Heaven’ was always going to be on the back foot for this very reason. Whilst the vocals, much as there is a love for RJD, don’t compare and this particular track seems to appear an over-reach due to this, the instrumental work though is monstrously good and Stringfield really shines as she attacks her guitar with real verve.

In a way, ‘Crawling’ suffers a little of the same fate, Chester Bennington’s original performance so compelling and unique, but this is nevertheless a great version with an elegant and superb arrangement, the twin vocals once more working their magic.
Alice Cooper meets Andrew W.K. in the knockabout party anthem that is ‘Somebody Put Something Into My Drink’, adding a bit more of a Metal edge to the Ramones punk leanings, before Heaven Below yet again show their more restrained side to finish the album.

Once again, it could be said that this new take on Judas Priest’s ‘Desert Plains’ is even better than the original, it is The Eagles / Bon Jovi epic Country Rock beautifully accomplished as it makes it way in a more dynamic and less rushed manner to Halford and Co.
Closing the set, ‘Don’t Change’ is a fine and gorgeously melodic modern Rock song, adding more bite to the INXS source material.

Then we have the bonus disc, titled ‘The Missing Pieces’. It includes a bunch of covers done by the band some time ago, some released as standalone singles, some are new.
There’s a surprising take on ’80s new wave hit ‘Major Tom’ (Peter Schiling), ‘Heartbreaker’ (Pat Benatar) and the classic ‘Twilight Zone’ (Golden Earring).
And very enjoyable versions of ‘Pull Me Under’ (Dream Theater), Subdivisions (Rush), ‘Out In The Cold’ (Judas Priest), ‘Losers And Winners’ (Accept), ‘Going To California’ (Led Zeppelin) and ‘Nothing Else Matters’ (Metallica), all songs that I absolutely love and find awesomely performed / arranged here.

And we have an extra. 35 years since it was first unleashed on the world, ‘Powerslave’ remains one of the stratospheric highpoints in Iron Maiden’s catalogue, both the album and the track itself showing a band at the peak of their powers.
As a celebration of this landmark, Heaven Below and top tribute band The Iron Maidens joined forces in the studio and have produced this incendiary and punchy version of the song that perfectly captures all the urgent intensity. Guitars snarl, bass and drums gallop and vocals soar as the two bands fire off of each other, sparks flying like two giant robots locked in mortal combat.
You can almost feel Eddie’s unsettling smile of approval as this charges from the speakers, his timeless, skeletal head nodding in time with the music.

“Rest In Pieces: A Tribute To The Departed” really works and by avoiding a lot of obvious choices the band have picked wisely, bringing a welcome fresh coat of paint to some old favourites and deeper cuts.
The album can certainly be enjoyed as a whole, appreciated as part of the band’s canon of material or as an excuse to dig out the original versions of the songs and rediscover why you drew them all to your heart in the first place.
In a world of tribute albums, this certainly stands tall and proud.
HIGHLY Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


Disc I : Rest In Pieces:
01 – We Will Rock You (Queen)
02 – Touch Too Much (AC/DC)
03 – Revolution Is My Name (Pantera)
04 – Down In A Hole (Alice In Chains)
05 – Motor Medley (Motorhead)
06 – Ain’t No Grave (Johnny Cash)
07 – Like A Stone (Audioslave)
08 – Hungry For Heaven (DIO)
09 – Crawling (Linkin Park)
10 – Somebody Put Something In My Drink (Ramones)
11 – Desert Plains (Judas Priest)
12 – Don’t Change (INXS)
EXTRA track (standalone single)
13 – Powerslave (Iron Maiden)

Disc II : The Missing Pieces
01 – Major Tom (Peter Schiling)
02 – Twilight Zone (Golden Earring)
03 – Heartbreaker (Pat Benatar)
04 – Closer (NIN)
05 – Pull Me Under (Dream Theater)
06 – Subdivisions (Rush)
07 – Out In The Cold (Judas Priest)
08 – Losers And Winners (Accept)
09 – Going To California (Led Zeppelin)
10 – Tonight (We Need A Lover) (Motley Crue)
11 – Nothing Else Matters (Metallica)

Vocals, Guitar – Patrick Kennison
Guitar, Vocals – Nikki Stringfield (Femme Fatale)
Bass, Vocals – John Younger
Drums – Shad Williams



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.