Mr. MISTER – I Wear The Face [Japan AOR CITY 1000 series] (2016)

Mr. MISTER - I Wear The Face [Japan AOR CITY 1000 series] full

As requested by many, here’s the not easy to find reissue of Mr. MISTER‘s LP “I Wear The Face“, in this remastered reissue featuring the original artwork, released as part of the Sony Music Japan campaign titled AOR CITY 1000.
Originally out in 1984, “I Wear The Face” is the first album by Mr. Mister, the band lead by talented Richard Page who turned down the offer to be Toto’s frontman (!)
This first Mr. Mister effort may not be as AORish as their next monster hit album Welcome To The Real World, but it’s a great one in its own right.

The LP spawned a single hit in opener ‘Hunters of the Night’, well-received in both radio and MTV, however, the album has some other great tracks worth listening such as ‘Partners in Crime’, ‘Code of Love’, ‘Runaway’ or ‘Hunters of the Night’.

Alongside their rock&pop / Lite AOR melodies, Mr. Mister always had a little ‘progressive’ little touch in their instrumentation which made them so interesting, and this first album is not the exception.
It’s not strange that Steve Lukather asked Richard Page for the vocalist slot in Toto. Some tracks here sound like Toto such as ’32’, with others akin Starship, The Outfield, Cutting Crew, etc.
When the band recorded “I Wear The Face”, the American music market was under some kind of ‘British rock&pop invasion’ lead by The Police, so Page & Co. tried to balance their US Radio sound with a touch of UK feel as well (check ‘I Get Lost Sometimes’).

The album title defies sounding like a new act. Richard Page already had long career fronting Pages but also as background vocalist for REO Speedwagon or Survivor among others. Just before Mr. Mister recorded their debut album, Richard Page was part of Surivor’s Caught In The Game awesome record.
This might have influenced him as ‘Partners in Crime’ features great multi-layered choruses and a Survivor-ish catchiness.

Japan AOR CITY 1000 series

“I Wear The Face” is not that instant as the second Mr. Mister album, but after few listens will find yourself loving it. It’s a really well elaborated rock&pop / lite AOR with elegant melodies and smooth vocals.
This is you chance to get a Japanese Edition of this album at a really low price. It uses the last remastering and sound million bucks.
Pure ’80s stuff. Easily Recommended


Sony Music Japan ~ 【SICP-4912-CD】
A O R   C I T Y   1000

01 – Hunters of the Night
02 – Code of Love
03 – Partners in Crime
04 – 32
05 – Runaway
06 – Talk the Talk
07 – I’ll Let You Drive
08 – I Get Lost Sometimes
09 – I Wear the Face
10 – Life Goes On

Richard Page – bass, lead vocals
Steve Farris – guitars
Steve George – synthesizers, sax, background vocals
Pat Mastelotto – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.