MARC REECE – Dreamer (2021)

MARC REECE - Dreamer (2021) full

Only available on physical CD, “Dreamer” is the new album from German musician MARC REECE. Several year in the making simply due to the fact that Reece is mainly at home on stage and has given extensive concerts in Asia and Europe. In between, he went on tour with other artists almost all over the world and finally started recording his fourth studio album in mid-2019.
Throughout ten songs, Marc Reece once again proves why he is rightly considered an exceptional Classic Rock songwriter and guitarist. With “Dreamer” you are very close to the man who counts Rory Gallagher, Jimi Hendrix, Bernie Marsden and Stevie Ray Vaughan among his influences, and who is nevertheless unmistakable through his very own style by combining traditional blues with hard rockin’, classic rock riffs. And he’s a fine singer too.

You only can expect a bouncy number with a title “Rock’n’Roll Hero”. It’s a wonderfully structured with added keyboard runs of piano and organ. When writing the band line-up, it was noticeable that the protagonist also uses the pedal steel guitar. The song, which also glides along in calmer waters, and Reece solo shines.

There’s a a groovy funky approach to the title song “Dreamer”, and lots of groove with “Bernie”. “Harder Than It Seems” is almost nine minute long, but deserve its length. The piece is a magnificent power ballad with melodic vocals and riffs, plus beautiful pearly organ tones. The energy flows right in the middle with a gripping electric guitar solo, which is replaced without a break by going it alone on the acoustic six-string. Great tune.
“One For Hannes” is an instrumental, a showcase for Reece skills and his competent band.

There’s many rich facets in “Dreamer”, a melodic and elaborated album combining all the rock elements from the last forty years, served with a modern, polished production.
Highly Recommended


01. Bernie
02. Dreamer
03. One For Hannes
04. No Chance Child
05. Harder Than It Seems
06. Scorpion Man
07. I’m Ready
08. Shake It
09. At The Market
10. Rock’n’roll Hero

Mark Reece – Vocals, Guitars
Guido Ludwig – Bass
Denis Sarp – Drums
Marcus Schinkel – Piano & Organ
Adrian Wachowiak – Keyboards (2, 5)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.