THE THROBS – Language Of Thieves & Vagabonds +2 [Rock Candy remastered & reloaded]

THE THROBS - Language Of Thieves & Vagabonds +2 [Rock Candy remastered & reloaded] full

As requested here’s the rarely seen Rock Candy remastered version of THE THROBSLanguage Of Thieves & Vagabonds“, including two bonus tracks. Once upon a time, The Throbs were touted as New York’s answer to Guns N’ Roses. This, their debut record, which was produced by legend Bob Ezrin (Kiss, Alice Cooper) and released on Geffen Records in 1991 should have, by all means, made these guys stars.
The late 80’s/early 90’s produced quite a few bands which didn’t gain the success they deserved and whose albums are considered to be lost classics. “Language Of Thieves & Vagabonds” and The Throbs are in this wagon.

Listening to ”The Language Of Thieves And Vagabonds” now, you won’t be surprised that this band just couldn’t last long. Most of these songs are sleazy rockin’ songs which are heavily influenced by drugs, living on the streets and band-life full of decadence.

Much like other bands back then such as The Quireboys or The Dogs D’Amour, these guys didn’t want to get a piece of the pie of the hair metal pie, their goal was to make a timeless Rock’n’Roll classic.
And what can we say now after 30 years? Well, yep, they managed to achieve that!
Just listen to The Throbs “Honey Child”, which sounds like an unofficial follow-up to the Stones ‘Wild Horses’ or the rocking “Ecstasy” and you’ll get the idea.

The music on this disc is nothing short of fantastic rock n’ roll. Big guitars and great piano work saturate this disc. In fact, the keyboards on this disc are handled by Bob Ezrin, with the exception of a couple of guest stars: Little Richard plays the piano on the song, “Ecstasy” and Freddy Mandel (Alice Cooper, Queen) handles the keyboards on “It’s Not the End of the World” and “Rip It Up”.

Thanks to the remastering, ”The Language Of Thieves And Vagabonds” still sounds fresh, gritty, and most of all, honest.
This is bluesy, ragtime hard rock that should have appealed to both 80s and 90s classic hard rock fans. The music dabbles with some hints of post Appetite Guns N’ Roses with some guitar sounds that bring KISS to mind.
A kick ass record.
Highly Recommended


01 – Underground
02 – Come Down Sister
03 – It’s Not the End of the World
04 – Dreamin’
05 – Honeychild
06 – Rip it Up
07 – Ocean of Love
08 – Only Way Out
09 – Sweet Addiction
10 – Ecstasy
11 – Strange Behaviour
12 – Rainbow
13 – The Queen of Borrowed Lights

Ronnie Sweetheart – vocals
Roger Ericson – guitar
Danny Nordahl – bass
Ronnie Magri – drums
additional Musicians:
Little Richard – piano (10)
Freddy Mandell – keyboards (3 & 6)
Bob Ezrin – keyboards, percussion, producer



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.