BUX (Punky Meadows pre-Angel) – We Came To Play [remastered reissue 2021]

BUX (pre Angel / Punky Meadows) - We Came To Play [remastered reissue 2021] full

For decades out of print, ”We Came To Play”, here’s the first and only album released by BUX in 1976. The band was a successful club act including into the the line up two future Angel members, guitarist Punky Meadows and bass player Mickie Jones.
In early 1973, Capitol Records signed the band and rushed them into the studio to record this debut album. Within several months the album was complete, but Capitol balked on the deal and the band were dropped from the roster.

By the end of 1974, Meadows and Jones were signing a new contract with Angel and their debut was released the following year. By 1976, Angel was in full swing and enjoying national exposure. Capitol, sensing an opportunity to cash in on the band’s success, issued the Bux album they had canned several years prior.
The album rocks with hard rockin’ boogie attack similar to Aerosmith – it’s no surprise singer Ralph Morman, went on to sing for Joe Perry’s first solo album – and at places bringing to mind Angel without the Pomp. “White Lightning”, which later became a featured cut on Angel’s third album, is included here with different lyrics and is interesting for its historical value.

BUX came out of the Boston bar band scene at the same time as Aerosmith did – both cut their nails up in the circuit and were friends – but sadly, BUX had a really bad manager. So you know which one got success. Also BUX had troubles in the studio, and disagreements didn’t help them keeping together.
Anyway, BUX were really, really good, and if you like your Classic Rock played with passion and melody, you need to listen to ”We Came To Play”.
Also a must listen for any Angel fan looking for a brief look into the early careers of Meadows and Jones.
Highly Recommended


01 – Crosstown Girl
02 – Highway
03 – It’s Your Baby
04 – If You Want Love
05 – White Lightning
06 – Come On Down
07 – Buy Me A Bottle
08 – When Your Time Has Come
09 – Next Train

Ralph Morman – Lead Vocals
James Newlon – Lead Guitars
Punky Meadows – Lead Guitars
Mickie Jones – Bass
Wiley Crawford – Keyboards/Lead Vocals
Rocky Isaac – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.