BABYLON A.D. – Babylon A.D. +7 [Bad Reputation Remaster] (2020)

BABYLON A.D. - Babylon A.D. +7 [Bad Reputation Remaster] (2020) full

Originally released in 1989 BABYLON A.D. self-titled debut album containing the hard rock hits “Bang Go The Bells”, “Hammer Swings Down” and “The Kid Goes Wild” – also featured in the film RoboCop 2 – has been remastered / reissued by Bad Reputation Records. “Babylon A.D. +7 [Bad Reputation Remaster]” also includes as bonus tracks several remixed of these hits previously unreleased on CD.
With songs plenty of smokin’ guitar riffs and hard driving rhythms, this album is a must have for fans of the classic hair metal era – in the same vein of Tora Tora, Ratt, Black N’ Blue, etc. Originally known as The Persuaders, Bay Area outfit Babylon A.D. also had to add the A.D. suffix to their moniker after complaints from another group in Chicago with the same name.

The Illinois band claimed to have been using the name for around five years, prompting the Oakland outfit to slightly adjust their new name just prior to the release of their eponymous debut with Arista.
Formed approximately four years before the release of this debut, singer/songwriter Derek Davis and bass player Robb Reid had been school buddies and put the group together after a good deal of friendly rivalry in other bands.

The major label deal arrived after record company showcase gigs in Los Angeles and then Babylon A.D. spent the next year or so writing, including several stints with ex-Surgin man Jack Ponti, a collaboration that accounted for five songs on the Simon Hanhart produced debut record.

Babylon A.D. scored valuable heavy radio play with the kick ass rocker ”Bang Go The Bells”. The track ”Kid Goes Wild” features a guest appearance from the late comedian Sam Kinison and was used as a score in Robocop 2.
Very good remastering job and the bonus tracks roxx!


01 – Bang Go The Bells
02 – Hammer Swings Down
03 – Caught Up In The Crossfire
04 – Desperate
05 – The Kid Goes Wild
06 – Shot O’ Love
07 – Maryanne
08 – Back In Babylon
09 – Sweet Temptation
10 – Sally Danced
11 – Bang Go The Bells (Live)
12 – Desperate (Live)
13 – Sally Danced (Live)
14 – Kid Goes Wild (Robo Mix)
15 – Kid Goes Wild (Think It Over Mix)
16 – Bang Go The Bells (Friction Mix)
17 – Bang Go The Bells (Fat-Bottom Mix)

Derek Davis – vocals, acoustic guitar
Dan De La Rosa – guitars
Ron Freschi – guitars, backing vocals
Robb Reid – bass, backing vocals
Jamey Pacheco – drums
additional musicians:
John Matthews – guitars
Jimmy Wood – harmonica
Sam Kinison – vocals on “The Kid Goes Wild”



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Scupp says:

    What an album, what a band!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.