Lars Boquist’s NEONDAZE – ”2021” (2021)

Lars Boquist's NEONDAZE - ''2021'' (2021) full

Anyone remember the very good Swedish band that released a couple of albums in the Nineties, called POLE POSITION? If you do, their guitarist Lars Boquist, a highly underrated one I might add, is now back in action walking the same old path he once created.
NEONDAZE new album “2021” truly sounds like a POLE POSITION of the new millennium, that meaning classic Scandi Melodic Rock. Add to that drummer Hampus Landin who has been member of MISS BEHAVIOUR and you pretty much picture the sound & style of NEONDAZE: a mix of WIG WAM, ’80s BONFIRE and THE POODLES, with big DEF LEPPARDish harmony vocals during the ready-to-sing-a-long choruses.
And there’s another reason you can’t go wrong here; many of these songs were written 1986-1988…

There are some outstanding heavy hitters on this album, such as the slightly Def Leppard-goes-heavy sounding “Livin” with Lars’ guitar slicing the air like a giant razor. Not to forget the subsequent stomper “Stop Crying” (with some WHITE LION on it) and the anthemic album opener “Intoxicated”, another layered fantastic melodic rocker.
“Evil In Mind” drivin’ riff brings to mind TNT, we have a very catchy tune, 80s radio-ready hit in ”Live for Tonite”, and there’s a sweet melodious ballad in “Caroline”.

U can’t go wrong here indeed, NEONDAZE’s ”2021” brings joy and pure ’80s-like music entertainment to this dark year.
Highly Recommended


01 – Intoxicated
02 – Live for Tonite
03 – Critical Mass
04 – Million Miles
05 – Oullbemi Vampire
06 – Stop Crying
07 – Take These Chains
08 – Evil in Mind
09 – Caroline
10 – Hold Me
11 – Livin’
12 – Traitorous

Marcus Lundgren – lead vocals
Lars Boquist – guitars, keys, vocals
Jesper Lahn – bass, vocals
Hampus Landin – drums



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.