PETRA – Beat The System (1984) [Digitally Remastered 2021] HQ

PETRA - Beat The System (1984) [Digitally Remastered 2021] full

Girder Records has just reissued three iconic PETRA albums. These limited run melodic hard rock classics are back in remastered deluxe editions on both vinyl and CD so fans can rediscover just what made these albums so pivotal in the history of CCM, as well as introduce them to those who may have missed these iconic releases the first time around.
Petra’s Grammy nominated 1985 album, ”Beat The System” (being remastered for the first time here) is certainly one of Petra’s most transitional works. It is also one that, despite being thoroughly a product of its time, manages to sound surprisingly relevant today.
Due to the departure of keyboardist John Slick, the preponderance of the album’s mountain of synthesizer tracks were actually performed by studio musicians Carl Marsh & Rhett Lawrence, a young producer and musician who, in future years, would produce albums and write songs for major artists.
When Lawrence was working on ”Beat The System” he was also working as synth programmer for Michael Jackson and Van Halen, which gave the album a polished, mainstream sound.

There’s no way around it. ”Beat The System” is a synth-rock / rock&pop / AOR album from top to bottom. While the program-heavy sound fit the lyrical theme of the album, and the trends at radio in 1984-1985, some fans initially bristled at their favorite rock band’s digital direction.
Catchy songwriting, and a prescient theme, however, has helped the album to age well. As a capstone to the Volz era of the band, and a snapshot of Bob Hartman’s ability to adapt to changing styles and trends in rock and pop, ”Beat The System” stands out in Petra’s considerable catalog.

With songs like “Computer Brains,” “Witch Hunt,” and “It Is Finished,” the band included sampling and effects not found on their other records along with a sense of urgency in every song, slowing the heavy tempo for only two songs: “Adonai” and “Hollow Eyes.”
You are about to hear this album in all it’s glory, digitally remastered for the first time.
Highly Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Beat the System
02 – Computer Brains
03 – Clean
04 – It Is Finished
05 – Voice in the Wind
06 – God Gave Rock and Roll to You
07 – Witch Hunt
08 – Hollow Eyes
09 – Speak to the Sky
10 – Adonai

Greg X. Volz – vocals
Bob Hartman – guitars
Carl Marsh – Fairlight (keyboards, drums, bass and other embellishments)
Rhett Lawrence – additional synthesizer programming
John Lawry – additional synthesizer programming



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.