THUNDERMAKER (Sweden) – The Road [feat Ronny Munroe & Tim “Ripper” Owens] (2021)

THUNDERMAKER (Sweden) - The Road [feat Ronny Munroe & Tim

THUNDERMAKER is the new project of Swedish songwriter / guitarist Martin Gummesson, a quite young musician inspired by classic rock acts from all eras. Released today via Sliptrick Records, “The Road” is THUNDERMAKER’s debut CD where the lead vocals are performed by Tim “Ripper” Owens (Judas Priest / Iced Earth) and the guy of the moment, Ronny Munroe – Trans Siberian Orchestra, Metal Church and the really good recent Frontiers Music act Between Worlds.
Very well produced by Gummesson and mixed & mastered by renowned Andy La Rocque with a vibrant sound, the overall style of “The Road” recall ’80s DIO, mid-paced melodic metal tunes with a certain hard rock groove, some classic Judas Priest touches, progressive, etc.

Apart from the remarkable strong production, what makes THUNDERMAKER’s debut a pleasant listen is the solid songwriting. All are good songs, varied, with defined melodies, groove, fine guitar riffs, well placed keyboards / synths.
And of course, having at hand these experienced singers is a plus. While there’s one song featuring L-G Petrov (Entombed) – which is our least favorite here but adds variation and brings different metalheads to the project – most songs are performed by “Ripper” Owens and Munroe, both delivering colorful performances.
And there’s Rille Larsson on two cuts, and unknown vocalist for us but one we want to hear more in the future, he’s a tenor-hard rock type of singer, and with a very good register.

Sweden’s THUNDERMAKER is a welcomed new act serving classic melodic metal spiced with other related things which works really well from songwriting & performances to production & mix.
Highly Recommended


01. The Road (feat. Ronny Munroe)
02. Fire Burns Forever (feat. Tim “Ripper” Owens)
03. Broken Promises (feat. Ronny Munroe)
04. A Twin Flame Journey (feat. Ronny Munroe)
05. Fake (feat. L-G Petrov)
06. Symbiosis (feat. Rille Larsson)
07. The Runner & The Chaser (feat. Tim “Ripper” Owens)
08. Where Sorrow Dwells (feat. Rille Larsson)
09. 1111 (feat. Ronny Munroe)
10. Mi-Ya (Instrumental)

Martin Gummesson – Guitars, Bass, Keyboards
Eddie Juneskär – Drums, Percussion
Tim “Ripper” Owens – Vocals
Ronny Munroe – Vocals
L-G Petrov – Vocals
Rille Larsson – Vocals



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.