THY ROW – Unchained (2021)

THY ROW - Unchained (2021) full

Helsinki, Finland’s THY ROW, which is helmed by Everfrost vocalist Mikael Salo will be releasing the debut album ”Unchained” on September 24th, 2021 via Rockshots Records. Thy Row offers up a fresh mix of old-school classic metal with modern hard rock, and a punchy production sound recalling the heaviest side of ECLIPSE.
However, musically THY ROW bring to mind PRETTY MAIDS, and their clever combination of heavy polished riffs with catchy melodies. From the tight rhythm feels to the big vocals, I am lost in this one.

Aptly entitled ”Unchained”, you get from this album phenomenal vitality, a call to freedom and liberation of the self.
From the rocking sound on ‘The Road Goes On’, to the cool, yet subtle harmonies on ‘Horizons’, this album never lets up. Mikael Salo has a rock solid voice, right in that pitch that works perfectly on every single song. Damn, he makes me smile that people can still do that like he does. Dirty, and smooth, high and screamy, too soft and perfect. Love it.
Jussi Laulainen and Ville Vase are both clinical on the guitar. They are as tight and precise as Degarmo and Wilson from Queensryche, or even Glen Tipton and K.K. Downing of Judas Priest. Juho Jokimies on Bass and Teemu “Snake” Laitinen on Drums fill this one out with a huge rhythm section that just hits like a brick wall falling on you. Tight, blasting, and full of energy. This one hits nice and hard.

Overall album is quite heavy, punchy, still, the band explores different atmospheres. The mid-tempo “Down on my knees” with its discreet keyboards and eerie choruses is a highlight. It brings a dramatic tone and balances the overall composition of the CD.
Thus, the transition with the darker triptych “The Downfall” is particularly well-executed.

On their debut, Thy Row has delivered the near perfect head-banger album. One that energetically combines metal heaviness and hard rocking groove. The kind of album that can get just about everyone up and moving. The riffs are frantic, the vocals are inspiring and the drums really add a ton of meat to the bones.
Highly Recommended


01 – Road Goes On
02 – The Round
03 – Unchained
04 – Horizons
05 – Hidebound
06 – Just Fine
07 – Down on My Knees
08 – The Downfall, Part 1: Killing All Inside
09 – The Downfall, Part 2: Beyond Reason
10 – The Downfall, Part 3: Fragments of Memory

Mikael Salo – vocals
Jussi Laulainen, Ville Vase – guitars
Juho Jokimies – bassTeemu “Snake” Laitinen – drums


Pre order;

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.