ALCATRAZZ - V (2021) full

Mighty ’80s Los Angeles-born, guitar-driven, rock icons ALCATRAZZ announce the release of their fifth studio album, aptly titled ‘V‘, which is set for release via Silver Lining Music on October 15th, 2021.
The album features the new ALCATRAZZ 2021, including highly respected shouter Doogie White alongside founding members Jimmy Waldo and Gary Shea on keyboards and bass respectively, Mark Benquechea on drums, and Joe Stump on guitar.
Since the first song you can hear the chemistry between this new line up causing the musical fire. It’s one hell of a reminder that when ALCATRAZZ is firing on all cylinders with all guns blazing, they are a vital part of any metalhead’s day.

Formed in 1983, ALCATRAZZ became famous for its blend of melodic and progressive rock and for introducing guitar heroes Yngwie Malmsteen and Steve Vai. Emerging in 1983 with No Parole From Rock ‘N’ Roll, which featured the hit “Island In The Sun,” the band continued building popularity in 1985 with their sophomore effort, Disturbing The Peace, which contained the hit, “God Blessed Video.” The band issued one more studio LP, 1986’s Dangerous Games, before ceasing operations the following year.

The band regrouped and released highly acclaimed ‘Born Innocent’ in 2020, their first studio album containing all-new material since 1986.
While ‘Born Innocent’ was a smart and strong return to the studio, there is a synergy and crackle about ”V” which shows a band both in lockstep with each other and back in love with the writing process.

Both vintage and timeless, ”V” treads the ALCATRAZZ textured territories of old but with renewed vigor and verve. Whether it be the choral-echoes sitting inside the storming tempest which is “Nightwatch,” the staunch, speedy melodic metal of “Turn Of The Wheel,” or the thick, bluesy chug of “House Of Lies,” there is little doubt that this ALCATRAZZ is going full-tilt with not one ounce of a shackle holding them back.
In that regard, White’s supreme vocal work on all twelves tracks serves as the catalyst for their creative synergy and his supremely positive energy brings the band closer than it has been since, well, 1986!

Over the course of three-plus decade career, the Scottish-born White is undoubtably one of the finest vocalists in hard rock, having fronted Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow, Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force, Tank, and Michael Schenker. It is therefore no surprise to hear him dovetail so easily with ALCATRAZZ, indeed, it feels like the most natural of career progressions.

There is little doubt that besides the work of White, much is going to be quite rightly said about the scintillating performance of Joe Stump throughout V, and it feels as though he’s truly found his place alongside previous ALCATRAZZ guitar gods, Yngwie Malmsteen and Steve Vai. Every riff is supremely sharp and every solo carries with it platinum sovereignty, whether engaging in the shred or delivering a more nuanced lead break.

Produced by Giles Lavery and Jimmy Waldo, and mixed by Andy Haller (Elton John, Joe Cocker, System Of A Down), ”V” also includes guest appearances from Saxon’s Nigel Glockler (drums on “Guardian Angel” and “Blackheart”), Tank’s Cliff Evans (bass on “Grace Of God”), and Donnie Van Stavern of Riot (bass on “Guardian Angel,” “Nightwatch,” and “Target”), underscoring how perennially popular ALCATRAZZ’s music remains with their peers.
”V” stands for ALCATRAZZ’s fifth studio album of course… but it also stands just as resolutely for Victory; the victory that sees ALCATRAZZ 2021 stronger than ever despite all the odds.
Highly Recommended


01 – Guardian Angel
02 – Nightwatch
03 – Sword of Deliverance
04 – Turn of the Wheel
05 – Blackheart
06 – Grace of God
07 – Return to Nevermore
08 – Target
09 – Maybe Tomorrow
10 – House of Lies
11 – Alice’s Eyes
12 – Dark Day for My Soul

Doogie White – vocals
Jimmy Waldo – keys
Gary Shea – bass
Mark Benquechea – drums
Joe Stump – guitar


Pre order;

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.