SOUTHERN BROTHERS – This One Goes To 11 (2021)

SOUTHERN BROTHERS - This One Goes To 11 (2021) full

Pandemic forced musicians from all over the world to stop performing live, however it gave the opportunity for many to explore their creative inspiration. This is the case of SOUTHERN BROTHERS, a band-duo born in 2020.
Bosse Nilsson and Lars “Lunkan” Lundgren are well known names from the Scandinavian scene. That the two make music together is nothing new. They already shared stages in the ’80s as members of bands, and started working professionally together in the 90s.
“Lunkan” has played full time since the ’80s in various acts, while Nilsson focused in songwriting and music production. Last year joined again and SOUTHERN BROTHERS born.
No, despite their name, SOUTHERN BROTHERS are not from America, but Sweden. And while their music on “This One Goes To 11” has a bluesy foundation, they play Classic Rock with Melodic Rock / rock&pop touches.

As happens with almost all Scandinavian acts, the tech side – production & mix – of ”This One Goes To 11” is impeccable. What’s cool about SOUTHERN BROTHERS is their organic sound & style, the music coming naturally to the ears with that classic rock feeling of all times.
There’s some quite rocking tunes on offer here, others are midtempo where melody and vocal harmonies rule, we find a pinch of American southern blues, but they add refreshing modern twists – especially on some drum mixes – which make the songs original and entertaining.
A very cool, pleasant album plenty of well crafted songs.
Highly Recommended


01 – A Heartbeat Away (For Sarah Hegazi)
02 – Big City Crazy Nights
03 – No Ordinary Man
04 – Hell Yeah
05 – Carolina
06 – Downtown
07 – Love Love Love
08 – Are You Ready
09 – Let’s Call It Love
10 – The Stars You and Me

Lars Lundgren – vocals, guitar
Bosse Nilsson – vocals, guitar, drums, keys



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.