THE DOORS – L.A. Woman (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (2021)

THE DOORS - L.A. Woman (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (2021) full

‘L.A. Woman’, THE DOORS last studio album with Jim Morrison will be reissued as a 50th anniversary 3-CD+ vinyl LP deluxe edition. The album was recorded over six days at The Workshop, the band’s rehearsal space on Santa Monica Boulevard in November 1970 and received critical and commercial acclaim when released in April the following year. ‘L.A. Woman’ is home to the brilliant title track, ‘Love Her Madly’, ‘Riders on the Storm’ and seven other songs.
For the ”L.A. Woman (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)”, the album has been ‘newly remastered’ (again) by The Doors’ longtime engineer and mixer Bruce Botnick. This is included on CD 1 and the vinyl LP.
CD’s 2 and 3 feature unreleased studio outtakes including the previously unheard original demo of ‘Riders on the Storm’ which was recently discovered in the band’s vault, having been assumed lost for decades. The demo recording was done with producer Paul A. Rothchild, who famously referred to it as “cocktail music”. This led to Rothchild departing the project, with the band opting to co-produce the album with Botnick.

The two bonus CDs offer more than two hours of unreleased recordings taken from the sessions for L.A. Woman, with CD2 offering “serial takes” of ‘The Changeling,’ ‘Love Her Madly,’ ‘Riders On The Storm,’ and ‘L.A. Woman’.
An early demo of ‘Hyacinth House’ recorded at Robby Krieger’s home studio in 1969 is also included (appended to the album on CD 1 alongside that ‘Riders on the Storm’ demo).

Amongst the outtakes on CD 3 are takes of Junior Parker’s ‘Mystery Train’, John Lee Hooker’s ‘Crawling King Snake’, Big Joe Williams’ ‘Baby Please Don’t Go’ and Lee Dorsey’s ‘Get Out Of My Life Woman’.

In 2011, at the time of the 40th anniversary of this album, Doors manager Jeff Jampol announced a five-CD super deluxe of L.A. Woman. This was eventually cancelled, with Jampol blaming Rhino for getting cold feet and worrying about the “market” for such a product.
Ten years later, this deluxe edition will go some way towards making up for that product’s non-appearance.


CD 1: Original Stereo Mix (remastered)
01 – The Changeling (2021 Remaster)
02 – Love Her Madly (2021 Remaster)
03 – Been Down So Long (2021 Remaster)
04 – Cars Hiss By My Window (2021 Remaster)
05 – L.A. Woman (2021 Remaster)
06 – L’America (2021 Remaster)
07 – Hyacinth House (2021 Remaster)
08 – Crawling King Snake (2021 Remaster)
09 – The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat) [2021 Remaster]
10 – Riders On The Storm (2021 Remaster)
Bonus Tracks:
11 – Hyacinth House (Demo)
12 – Riders On The Storm (Sunset Sound Demo)


CD2: LA Woman Sessions, Part 1
01 – The Changeling (Pt. 1) [L.A. Woman Sessions]
02 – Love Her Madly (Pt. 1) [L.A. Woman Sessions]
03 – Riders On The Storm (L.A. Woman Sessions)
04 – L.A. Woman (Pt. 1) [L.A. Woman Sessions]


CD3: LA Woman Sessions, Part 2
01 – L.A. Woman, Pt. 2 (L.A. Woman Sessions)
02 – She Smells So Nice (L.A. Woman Sessions)
03 – Rock Me Baby (L.A. Woman Sessions)
04 – Mr. Mojo Risin’ (L.A. Woman Sessions)
05 – Baby Please Don’t Go (L.A. Woman Sessions)
06 – L.A. Woman (Pt. 2) [L.A. Woman Sessions]
07 – Been Down So Long (Pt. 1) [L.A. Woman Sessions]
08 – Get Out Of My Life Woman (L.A. Woman Sessions)
09 – Crawling King Snake (L.A. Woman Sessions)
10 – The Bastard Son Of Jimmy & Mama Reed [L.A. Woman Sessions]
11 – Been Down So Long (Pt. 2) [L.A. Woman Sessions]
12 – Mystery Train (L.A. Woman Sessions)
13 – The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat) [L.A. Woman Sessions]

Jim Morrison – vocals
Ray Manzarek – keyboards, guitar, piano
Robby Krieger – lead guitar
John Densmore – drums
Additional musicians:
Jerry Scheff – bass
Marc Benno – rhythm guitar


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.