LOVER UNDER COVER – Into The Night +1 (Japan Edition)

LOVER UNDER COVER - Into The Night +1 (Japan Edition) full

Founded by multi-instrumentalist Mikael Carlsson LOVE UNDER COVER debuted with a very good Melodic Hard Rock album, and with the same line-up including singer Mikael Erlandsson (Last Autumn’s Dream) guitarist Martin Kronlund (Gypsy Rose, Phenomena) and drummer Perra Johnsson (Coldspell), the Swedish quartet entered the studio for their second effort “Into The Night“.
From the first bits, “Into The Night” proves that ‘the second album syndrome’ is not an option for these guys as Lover Under Cover not only were able here to live up to the initial expectation of the debut, they have made one better and one surely amongst the best of the year for the Melodic Hard Rock genre.
Simply put, “Into The Night” blows out of the water the already good first album.

This stunning new release sounds flawless and has more flesh & grease on the bones. More raucous guitar riffs, mature harmonies and an overall stronger studio production.
The brilliant brain / creator of Lovers Under Cover Mikael Carlsson has the right combatants in his legion of rock. Martin Kronlund is a dazzling guitarist and an excellent producer and with Perra Johnsson as the steady hitting-man behind it all, they have something quite fresh and a positive tone in their sound that attracts your Melodic Hard mind and soul.
Over the terrific musical background provided by Carlsson & Co., Mikael Erlandsson continues to sing classy and wonderful with his half-hoarse melodious voice. Those who like Last Autumn’s Dream, Treat, ColdSpell, or any of the other ‘really good’ bands from the new Swedish MHR scene will be thrilled by “Into The Night”.

Every track on this fantastic album is a possible hit, kicking off with the uptempo rocking “A Fight” driven by an ecstatic guitar riff and crowned by an extremely catchy chorus.
“Into The Shadows” follows with continuous fabulous sounds of guitars and vocals, rapidly becoming a favorite. This one felt rather similar to several of The Poodles hits, amazing melodic guitaring, fine keyboards and of course memorable peak moments.
“Miracle” is another highlight, pumped by a true energy that hit and provide unbelievable power. You can feel that AOR spirit generated from the ’80s, just gotta love the monster chorus.

LOVER UNDER COVER - Into The Night (2014) inside

One of the surprises is the cover of the 1988 pop number one single “Toy Soldiers” by Martika, sung with passion by Erlandsson, the perfect vocalist for this song with his raspy and sensual tone. He really shines here with authority.
“Crushing Stones” and “Life Is Easy” are that kind of feel-good tunes that makes you love this genre, and then the tempo picks up for “Playboy No. 7” where the strong, sharp guitar riffs and pounding drums pelt out to this song at their best.

“The Game Is On” and “Fantasy Man” feature some great lyrics and harmonies which invites you to sing along to, again. Two catchy tunes that will stay in your head forever. “Closer to The Truth” has a little ‘Eurovision’ feel to it, very commercial and little syruped, but it’s so well rounded that you will love it too.
“No Place Like Home” closes this impressive album with a lot of heart and passion. It starts off in a slow moody anthemic way and then upbeats to a great chorus.

With “Into The Night”, Lover Under Cover raised the bar really high with this Melodic Hard Rock album. Yes, this CD hasn’t a single filler track.
You’ll find here only high quality songwriting, killer guitar and bass lines, screaming keyboards, dynamic drums and energetic melodic vocals that will get your heart beating fast, and your throat singing all day.
It’s unbelievable how many ideas these guys have and how they translate them into their music, closer to perfection: “Into The Night” album is full of positive energy, beautiful melodies and a top notch polished production.


01 – A Fight
02 – Into The Shadows
03 – Miracle
04 – Toy Soldier
05 – Crushing Stones
06 – Life Is Easy
07 – Playboy No. 7
08 – The Game Is On
09 – Fantasy Man
10 – Closer To The Truth
11 – No Place Like Home
12 – The Chosen One


Mikael Erlandsson – Vocals, Keyboards
Mikael Carlsson – Bass, Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
Martin Kronlund (Gypsy Rose, Phenomena, Salute) – Guitars
Perra Johnsson (Coldspell) – Drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.