GUNSHY – Mayday (30th Anniversary Edition) [remastered +1] (2022)

GUNSHY - Mayday (30th Anniversary Edition) [remastered +1] (2022) full

GUNSHY are celebrating the 30th Anniversary from their first release in 1992 “Mayday“, a highly regarded album by melodic hard rock fans all over the world. Gunshy signed with Lions Pride Music in 2021 for the remastered re-issue of their album with refreshed artwork and with one brand new bonus track “Why” written by frontman John Luke and talented Leo Leoni (Gotthard). Gunshy, still had a style that might have evolved into something really special, had they stuck around for a little longer.
Born in the Swiss Alps from the ashes of melodic rock band OXIDO, GUNSHY recorded “Mayday” at the New Century Media Studios in Hollywood California, under the supervision of the producer giant Pat Regan (Kiss, Quiet Riot, Keel, Mr. Big, Warrant, Gotthard, etc…), resulting in a fine piece of good-time Melodic Hard Rock / AOR with a sound from the 80’s and early 90’s plenty of sing-along choruses and a good dose of keyboards.

On this album GUNSHY bring to mind Gotthard or Frontline, just more melodic. Opener “Ticket 2 Heaven” is probably the heaviest song on the album, going for an aggressive delivery. However, the AOR fireworks start with the next song, “You Take My Heart”.
“Last Chance” is more of a melodic midtempo number, while “Fool” rocks hard, an edged track driven by great hooks and excellent vocals. “Sometimes” is a jaw-dropping ballad with very smooth and clean vocals from Luke.

“Superstition” is a cover of the Stevie Wonder classic song, a departure from the AOR sound to something more groovier. While it breaks the AOR / melodic flow of the album, it’s nice to hear the band doing something different.
“Love Is A Game” and “Sherry’s On Fire” are both catchy tracks perhaps the most ’80s style tunes on the entire record. “Music Man” is the band’s other big ballad, and last but not least, there’s “Friends Or Lovers”, a pure European AOR song with the German / Swiss style for the genre, rich in harmony vocals and keys.
Speaking of harmony vocals / layered choruses, there’s Jamie St. James (Keel, Black’N’Blue) and Tommy Thayer (Black’N’Blue, Loverboy) providing background vocals on all songs.

GUNSHY’s “Mayday” is cult classic AOR / Melodic Hard album that needed a reissue after many years out of print. With a classy German ’80s sound for the genre and catchy melodies this album has something for everyone.
Limited to 500 pieces this is your chance to get this sought after CD.
Highly Recommended


01 – N862B
02 – Ticket 2 Heaven
03 – You Take My Heart
04 – Last Chance
05 – Fool
06 – Sometimes
07 – Superstition
08 – Love Is A Game
09 – Sherry’s On Fire
10 – Music Man
11 – Friends Or Lovers
12 – Why (Bonus Track)

John Luke: Lead & Backing Vocals
Patrick Reilly: Keys & Backing Vocals
Steve De Biasi: Guitars & Backing Vocals
Mark Levin: Bass & Backing Vocals
Max Zack: Drums & Backing Vocals
Jamie St. James (Keel, Black’N’Blue) Backing Vocals
Tommy Thayer (Black’N’Blue, Loverboy) Backing Vocals
Todd Jensen, Scott Reese, Terrie Carlos, Phyllis Bailey – Additional Backing Vocals


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.