CHERRY St. – Self-Titled (30 Year Anniversary 1992-2022) [Perris Records reissue 2022]

CHERRY St. - Self-Titled (30 Year Anniversary 1992-2022) [Perris Records reissue 2022] full

After many years out of print, Perris Records has re-issued the CHERRY St.Self Titled” CD. This was the first CD released on the Perris Records label. This is a very special 30 year anniversary 1992-2022 release for Perris and is a limited pressing of only 500 CDs.
Without starting any press or radio, the CD has almost sold out before the worldwide release date of April 8th. Over 80% of the CD’s have been sold to Germany & Japan and the rest have been shipped to distribution. The original 1992 CD was selling for high dollars on Ebay & Amazon.
“Cherry St.” sounds pretty similar to Britny Fox; sleazy-tinged hair-metal with catchy choruses and hooks.

Cherry St. was formed in California by Michigan natives Tom ‘Monroe’ Mathers & Don ‘Spinner’ Korbecki in 1989 after recruiting Chris Van Dahl on vocals and Todd “Taz” Anthony on guitar also from Michigan.
Within a year, Cherry St. released a three-song demo distributed by Important / Relativity that sold over 8,000 units worldwide. MTV also featured Cherry St. on the “Pay To Play” segment with members of Guns N’ Roses, Bang Tango and Warrant.
Jaimie Scott on bass guitar and Marc Razzle on drums were brought in right after releasing the three-song demo to start headlining Gazzari’s, Whisky, Troubadour and the Roxy on the Hollywood Strip. Legendary Bill Gazzari presented Cherry St. the first colored star for Gazzari’s. Many bands like Bang Tango, Razzle (now Lit) also received stars.

In 1990, Cherry St. was offered to tour Texas and soon after the great response from packed shows and hundreds of fans showing up to the instore meet and greets. More tours were booked in 29 states from Boston, Florida and all the way to Hawaii and sharing the bill with such bands as Dangerous Toys, Foreigner, Warrant, April Wine, Vince Neil, Slaughter, Pretty Boy Floyd, and Sweet F.A.

Cherry St. achieved many goals such as being the only unsigned band to have Music Plus Chain stores feature 24″ x 36″ full color poster’s and flats in all the stores in southern California to promote their three-song tape distributed by Important / Relativivity. Many Tower Records also featured the full color posters and flats in stores around southern California.
Also in 1990, Cherry St. recorded a home video with many fans and celebrities and featuring the first video “The Walk’ with cameos like Bon Jovi, Sam Kinison (RIP), Tracii Guns, Jani Lane (RIP), Bret Michaels, CC Deville and Lemmy (RIP).

In 1991, Kelly James replaced Razzle on drums and the band headed out on a US tour. In 1992, Jaime Scott joined Tyketto and he was replaced by Redd Rosell.
Soon after, the “self-titled” album was released and Cherry St. signed with JRS/BMG to release “Squeeze It Dry”. Poison’s Rikki Rockett offered to record Cherry St. at his studio, but because Sass Jordan and Motörhead were still recording there, Cherry St. would have not made the release date for a summer tour.

At a past Roxy club show in Hollywood, Erik Turner and Joey Allen from Warrant introduced Cherry St. The band kept in touch with Turner and he had a production company with Tommy Thayer (KISS, Black ‘N Blue) so they were brought in to produce “Squeeze It Dry”. Erik and Tommy had worked with Pat Regan (KISS, Deep Purple, Shotgun Messiah) so it made perfect sense to finish “Squeeze It Dry” with Pat Regan recording and mixing the CD in his studio.

“Squeeze It Dry” (featured HERE) includes all the “self-titled” songs plus a few more. However, all songs were re-recorded. The versions on this original “self-titled” are much better IMHO.
A highly recommended album from the glorious era finally available again.

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Ring Around The Rosie
02 – Mary Goes Round
03 – Speak No Evil
04 – Shake Down Sally
05 – Here I Come
06 – Jenn
07 – Sure Was Fine
08 – Cherry St.
09 – Ah!

Chris VanDahl (ex- L.A. Guns) – lead vocals
Tom “Monroe” Mathers – guitar, vocals
Todd “Taz” Anthony – guitar, vocals
Redd Rosell – bass – vocals
Tom “Kelly James” Dobrentey – drums



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Jack says:

    Will there be an alternative link for the FM – Indiscreet 2 (Demos).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.